Skip to main content
Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library
Drug Information Portal: Gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.
Epocrates Essentials: Evidence-based resource providing disease and drug information
Lexicomp: Comprehensive clinical drug information
Natural Medicines: Provides information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
To search the collection at Himmelfarb Library and the VSTC, use the search box on the library homepage.
To search for a specific electronic book title or to browse the e-book collection, click here.
Searching for journal articles? To view the full list of Himmelfarb databases by subject area see the "all databases" page
For nursing literature, the best places to start:
- CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature): Nursing and allied health literature
- Scopus: Interdisciplinary database covering more then 14,200 peer-reviewed journals, tracking cited and citing literature.
- PubMed: Health sciences articles including clinical, basic sciences, and public health information.
Need help searching the databases? See Himmelfarb's tutorials page, call the reference desk at 202-994-2850, or chat with a reference librarian by using the "Ask Us" link on the right side of the library homepage.
How to Determine if a Journal Article is Peer Reviewed
A peer reviewed journal is one in which articles are submitted to researchers who are experts in the field and its content, research methodology, and references are evaluated for accuracy before they are published.
There are two ways to determine if an article is peer-reviewed:
- Search for the journal title (not the article title) online (using Google) and then read about the journal (check the "About the Journal" information).
- Search for the journal title in the database, Ulrichsweb:
- Go to the Himmelfarb Library homepage and click on "All Databases"
- In the A to Z list at the top of the page, click on the letter "U"
- Click "Access Online" for Ulrichsweb
- Enter the journal title into the search box and click on "search"
- In the search results, look for a referee shirt icon to the left of the journal title ("refereed" is another name for "peer reviewed")
Skills and Procedures Databases