Skip to main content

RefWorks Classic: Alternatives to RefWorks

A quick introduction to using RefWorks including importing from various databases.

Alternatives to RefWorks

Alternatives to RefWorks
RefWorks is the bibliographic database recommended and supported by the
Himmelfarb Library. The following are alternatives to using RefWorks:

Settings for Alternative Citation Managers

Alternative citation managers may permit settings to provide integration with Himmelfarb Library's full-text collection.  

EndNote Find Full Text

Tips:

  • EndNote download available to SMHS Faculty and Staff from CASS Software Downloads.  
  • Users based at Children's Hospital should use GW VPN to optimize full-text retrieval by Full Text Finder.

Set up instructions for Find Full Text feature on EndNote desktop:

  1. Access the Edit menu then select Preferences.
  2. Select the Find Full Text area of Preferences.
  3. Select DOI (Digital Object Identifier) and PubMed LinkOut
  4. In Authenticate with, provide this URL: http://proxygw.wrlc.org/login

How to use Find Full Text:

  • After you activate the Find Full Text feature, you will see a GW login screen; enter your GW NetID and password.
  • A Washington Research Library Consortium Database menu list will display; click Continue.

Zotero Library Lookup

Set up instructions for Library Lookup on Zotero desktop:

  1. Access the Edit menu then select Preferences.
  2. Select the Advanced button.
  3. In Resolver field, provide this URL: https://wrlc-gwahlth.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/openurl?institution=01WRLC_GWAHLTH&vid=01WRLC_GWAHLTH:01WRLC_GWAHLTH  then click OK.

How to use Find Full Text:

  • Select a reference, then use the Green Arrow in the upper right corner and select Library Lookup.

The Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library
Questions? Ask us.
Creative Commons License
All LibGuides by Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library are licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

The George Washington University