Skip to main content

HSML 6213: Health Services Marketing and Planning: Industry Analysis

This LibGuide was designed for students enrolled in HSML 6213. Its purpose is to help students find information on members of the healthcare industry.

Trade Associations

American Hospital Association
Represents and serves all types of hospitals, health care networks, and their patients and communities. Includes TrendWatch Chartbook,
 a publication of various graphs on trends affecting hospitals and health systems. Also publishes Fast Facts on U.S. Hospitals.

American Medical Association
Information on healthcare trends and statistics in the U.S. health care market.

American Health Insurance Plans (AHIP)
Represents companies providing health insurance coverage.

Statistics

ProQuest Statistical Datasets
Provides access to statistics on a wide variety of topics produced by Federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental organizations- go to "Browse by Subject" then "Health and Vital Statistics." Requires up to date Java installation on your computer. Available through Gelman subscription. 

Health Statistics LibGuide

OECD Statistics (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development)

Public Health Student Guide to Statistics

World Health Organization

Statistics and analysis for global health.
 

Foundations and University Sponsored Research

Dartmouth Atlas of Medical Care
Uses medicare data to display information and analysis regarding national, regional, and local markets. It also shows information regarding hospitals and affiliated physicians.

Robert Wood Foundation
Publishes research and data devoted to public health in the U.S.

Kaiser Family Foundation
Provides access to reports, surveys, issue briefs, charts, slides and fact sheets containing analysis and the public’s views on current and critical issues such as the growing number of uninsured, Medicare, Medicaid.

Government Information

National Center for Health Statistics
Provides information on national trends in various issues that are pertinent to identifying disparities in health status and use of health care by race or ethnicity, socioeconomic status, region, and other population characteristics.

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Provides data on expenditures, hospital charges, inpatient and emergency department utlization in the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project.

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Contains research, statistics and data page concerning Medicare, Medicaid, and the Children's Health Insurance Program.

Health Resources and Services Administration
The website provides information on all programs that cover both Medicare and Medicaid patients as well as safety net hospitals like the community health centers and medical workforce development programs of the HHS.

National Cancer Institute
Access to cancer statistics and a number of statistical tools.

U.S. Census
Provides information about demogprahics of U.S. citizens, including health insurance statistics.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
General information on employment and wages by industry. Information on healthcare practitioners includes. phamacists, specialists, general practitioners, physician assistants, and others.

Books/Industry Guides

Subject Guide

Anne Linton's picture
Anne Linton
Contact:
Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library
2300 Eye Street, NW
Washington, DC 20037
202-994-1826
Website

The Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library
Questions? Ask us.
Creative Commons License
All LibGuides by Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library are licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

The George Washington University