Skip to main content

HSML 6213: Health Services Marketing and Planning: Corporate Information

This LibGuide was designed for students enrolled in HSML 6213. Its purpose is to help students find information on members of the healthcare industry.

News Archives

LexisNexis
Industry and market news as well as company financial information. Includes information on legal filings and litigation reports. Available through Gelman subscription.

Factiva
Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Available through Gelman subscription.

Current Healthcare News

Healthcare IT News
Published by HIMSS, a non-profit focused on advancing the best use of healthcare information and management systems.

EHRWatch.com
News, commentary and community participation on the developments in electronic health records.

Reuters Healthcare Sector
Provides news items and information for a broad range of sector-related topics, including facilities/organizations, equipment, and pharmaceuticals.

BusinessWeek and Forbes 
occasionally have special reports on industries.

Securities and Exchange Commission Filings

EDGAR
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free.

Companies: Private and Public

Hoover's
Proprietary information on more than 40,000 public and non-public companies. Available through Gelman subscription.

Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides both bibliographic and full text content covering all fields of business. This database includes articles from Healthcare Executive and Modern HealthcareAvailable through Gelman subscription.
             

      For Data Monitor Reports, search for "Industry Profile" in "SO Publication Name" AND "Healthcare"
      for industry reports by region:

Companies Private and Public

ABI/Inform Complete Plus
This database covers business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Includes articles from magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals. Available through Gelman subscription.

Dun & Bradstreet
Directory of companies with basic information at no cost, searchable by company name only. To search for non-US companies, choose the headquarters country on the right-hand column (only selected countries offer free information)

Mergent Online
For business and financial research. Provides access to: U.S. Company Data, U.S. Company Archives Data, U.S. Annual Reports, International Company Data, International Company Archives Data, International Annual Reports, Institutional Holdings Data, Insider Trading Data, FactSheets, FactSheets Express, Expanded Long-Term Debt, Global Earnings Estimates, D&B Million Dollar Database Plus, U.S. Company Data. Available through Gelman subscription.

Gartner Research
Access to selected content via myGW portal. Log into myGW and then click on the link to Gartner in the Tool & Resources box. Provides research on the business of information technology, including in the healthcare sector. Available through Gelman subscription.

Investext (ThomsonOne.com)
Provides the full text of stock brokerage reports on individual companies and on industries. Collects data on trade associations, merges and financial analysis reports. NOTE: This resource is designed to work only in Microsoft Internet Explorer on Windows. Available through Gelman subscription.

OECD iLibrary
Provides access to the books, journals, and statistical databases of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. Publications include country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Statistical data can be downloaded as Excel files. Available through Gelman subscription. Note: Includes IEA data and reports that GW does not subscribe to.

MarketResearch.com
You can get free access to the abstracts of many of the reports to look for pieces of industry information.

Subject Guide

Anne Linton's picture
Anne Linton
Contact:
Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library
2300 Eye Street, NW
Washington, DC 20037
202-994-1826
Website

The Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library
Questions? Ask us.
Creative Commons License
All LibGuides by Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library are licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

The George Washington University