About Readings
Faculty may choose to assign student readings which are available in Himmelfarb Library's online collections. Himmelfarb Library's online collections include 125+ databases, 6,400+ e-books, and 4,800+ e-journals. Faculty may assign readings from any book or journal in the collection. The links on this page connect faculty to a selection of our most frequently used search tools and full-text collections, but is not an exhaustive list. If you would like assistance in identifying possible readings for a particular topic, please ask a librarian.
Questions? Contact Laura Abate (leabate@gwu.edu or 202-994-8570)
Linking & Posting Readings
Linking
Readings from Himmelfarb collections can be hyperlinked from Blackboard using durable links; durable links provide consistent access to a journal article, book chapter, or book from Himmelfarb Library's online collection. Durable links:
- Provide access from on- and off-campus locations.
- Do NOT require instructors to obtain copyright permission in order to use materials.
- Can be used in Blackboard as well as in other course materials.
Himmelfarb Library provides instructions and information on creating durable links. For assistance with durable links, please contact Laura Abate (leabate@gwu.edu).
Posting to Blackboard
If you are considering posting files of copyrighted works in Blackboard, please consult the Blackboard Copyright Chart and/or the Copyright Research Guide to ensure copyright compliance.
User Limits
Most electronic resources available via Himmelfarb Library provide 'unlimited users' access, however some resource permit a fixed number of concurrent users. To ensure adequate access for your students, please communicate with Laura Abate (leabate@gwu.edu or 202-994-8570) or Steven Brown (swb103@gwu.edu or 202-994-9756) if you are assigning a reading fifteen or more students.
Finding Readings
- Health Information @ HimmelfarbSingle search engine searches across Himmelfarb Library's online and print collections for books, journals, and multimedia resources.
- ClinicalKeyClinical information tool searches extensive full-text holdings for clinical answers in journal articles, books, and videos. Searchable by keyword as well as disease, finding, procedure or drug.
- AccessMedicineFull-text clinical and basic sciences collection that includes Harrison's Online, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Hurst's The Heart, Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, the Lange educational library series, as well as multimedia and case materials.
- AccessSurgeryIntegrated online surgery resource includes videos, animations, full-text textbooks, surgical atlas, and board review materials. Current Consult Surgery can be downloaded to PDA.
- PsychiatryOnlineFull-text access to the DSM-V, APA textbooks and journals, guidelines, and patient education materials. Content sections can be downloaded to a PDA; create a 'My PsychiatryOnline' account to use 'PDA Download' function.
- ClinicalKey for NursingClinical information tool searches extensive full-text holdings including evidence-based nursing monographs, clinical skills modules, books, journals, practice guidelines, and core measures with nursing recommendations. Additional content includes drug information, patient education, multimedia materials, nursing scales, core measures, and labs references and measurement considerations. Searchable by keyword as well as disease, finding, procedure or drug. Published by Elsevier. 2007 - Present.
