Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National Library of Medicine
Through the National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) offers an online course on finding and using health statistics.
Find statistics by topic
Health Statistics by Topic
Handout from the National Library of Medicine class Health Statistics on the Web. Provides a comparison table of statistics by topic across 6 databases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Data and statistical resources from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance Survey (BRFSS)
Data designed to measure behavioral risk factors in the adult, non-institutionalized, civilian population. Focuses on preventive health practices and risk behaviors associated with chronic diseases, injuries, and preventive infectious diseases.
Data and Statistics
This portal offers links to CDC data and statistics by tool, collection method, topic, and more.
Health-related Quality of Life (HRQOL)
HRQOL data can be used to track population health in states and communities, to measure the burden of chronic and infectious diseases in different populations, and to measure the effects of short- and long-term disabilities.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
Weekly publication of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
The principal health statistics collection agency for the United States, NCHS provides a variety of health statistics.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
NHANES data provide a snapshot of the health and nutrition of the U.S. population. NHANES collects extensive health information from both face-to-face interviews and medical examinations. Data from NHANES surveys provide opportunities to study major nutri
National Health Interview Survey (NHIS)
NHIS has monitored the health of the nation since 1957. It contains a broad range of health topics collected through personal household interviews.
Overview and Methods for the Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System — United States, 2019
describes the surveillance system and the 2019 survey methodology, including sampling, data collection procedures, response rates, data processing, weighting, and analyses presented in this MMWR Supplement.
2019 YRBS participation map, survey response rates, and student demographic characteristics are included.
Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System (WISQARS)
CDC's WISQARs is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data.
Wide-ranging OnLine Data for Epidemiologic Research (WONDER)
CDC's WONDER provides a single point of access to a variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data.
Compendium of Federal Datasets Addressing Health Disparities
compilation of information on health
equity data. A resource for exploring federal data related to socioeconomic factors and social determinants of health
CDC datasets listed on Data.gov
Commercial database of statistics including in the Health, Pharma & Medtech industries:
Care & Support
Health Professionals & Hospitals
Pharmaceutical Products & Market
State of Health
Public Health Workforce
ASTHO Public Health Workforce and Needs Survey (PH WINS)
Fielded in 2014 and 2017, PH Wins is a nationally representative source of data about the governmental public health workforce. It captures individual governmental public health workers’ perspectives on key issues such as workforce engagement and morale, training needs, emerging concepts in public health, and collects data on the demographics of the workforce.
PHF TRAIN Data
Three unique datasets (and additional data available upon request)
learn about public health workforce skills/competence and the way the workforce is trained as measured by the topics and subjects of the courses public health professionals have taken
Learn more about using TRAIN Data for Research in this 15-minute webinar
City Health Dashboard
regularly updated data specific to neighborhood and/or city boundaries – such as life expectancy, obesity, and children in poverty
data on over 35 measures of health and drivers of health for over 750 cities across the U.S. – all cities over population 50,000.
Data maps on topics including mental health, population health, and the health workforce
RUPRI Center for Rural Health Policy Analysis
Rural health research, publications, and resources