Main web collection of enzyme functional data. Includes nomenclature, organism, kinetics, isolation, stability, and reaction data, literature references and links to sequence databases. Related to the print Enzyme Handbook (Springer).
Contains links to tools of use to molecular biologists and others. Includes Molecular Biologist's Desk Reference, with genetic code, codon usage tables, amino acid and protein data, miscellaneous tables and references.
The ExPASy (Expert Protein Analysis System) proteomics server of the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB) is dedicated to the analysis of protein sequences and structures as well as 2-D.
Gene Gateway, originally designed as a Web companion to the popular Human Genome Landmarks poster, is a collection of guides and tutorials designed to help students and other novice users get started with some of the resources that...
The GPCRDB is a molecular class-specific information system that collects, combines, validates and disseminates heterogeneous data on G protein-coupled receptors (GPCRs). The database stores data on sequences, ligand binding constants and...
...mutations. The system also provides computationally derived data such as sequence alignments, homology models, and a series of query and visualization tools.
InterPro is a database of protein families, domains, repeats and sites in which identifiable features found in known proteins can be applied to new protein sequences. Links to many databases, listed here:
A database of files on individual peptidases, families and clans, accessible via a set of indexes. Additional resources include 3D images, information on the biomedical or technological relevance of the peptidases, statistical data, and a chart showing...
NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information. Includes GenBank, Entrez, Cancer Genome Database, Human Genome Database, etc.
This tool will take a DNA sequence and find the large, non-overlapping open reading frames using the E.coli genetic code and the sites for all Type II and commercially available Type III restriction enzymes that cut the sequence just once...
Provides a dynamically searchable database of 3 types of neuronal properties: voltage gated conductances, neurotransmitter receptors, and neurotransmitter substances. It contains tools that provide for integration of these properties in a given type...
PharmGKB curates information that establishes knowledge about the relationships among drugs, diseases and genes, including their variations and gene products.
RTECS is a compendium of data extracted from the open scientific literature. The data are recorded in the format developed by the RTECS staff and arranged in alphabetical order by prime chemical name. Six types of toxicity data are included...
...in the file: (1) primary irritation; (2) mutagenic effects; (3) reproductive effects; (4) tumorigenic effects; (5) acute toxicity; and (6) other multiple dose toxicity. Specific numeric toxicity values such as LD50, LC50, TDLo, and TCLo are noted as well as species studied and route of administration used.
A database on Cytochrome P450 enzymes including a tool for analysis of CYP-drug interactions. Contains about 1,170 drugs, 2,785 Cytochrome-Drug interactions and about 1,200 alleles.
Toxicology data, citations and abstracts for the toxicology literature, Toxic Release Information (annual estimated releases of toxic chemicals to the environment), and chemical information (nomenclature, identification, structures).
