Textbooks
Case-Smith's Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents (PRINT ONLY) by
The number one book in pediatric OT is back! Focusing on children from infancy to adolescence, Case-Smith's Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents, 8th Edition provides comprehensive, full-color coverage of pediatric conditions and treatment techniques in all settings. Its emphasis on application of evidence-based practice includes: eight new chapters, a focus on clinical reasoning, updated references, research notes, and explanations of the evidentiary basis for specific interventions. Coverage of new research and theories, new techniques, and current trends, with additional case studies, keeps you in-step with the latest advances in the field. Developmental milestone tables serve as a quick reference throughout the book! Full-color, contemporary design throughout text includes high-quality photos and illustrations. Case-based video clips on the Evolve website demonstrate important concepts and rehabilitation techniques. Research Notes boxes and evidence-based summary tables help you learn to interpret evidence and strengthen clinical decision-making skills. Coverage of OT for children from infancy through adolescence includes the latest research, techniques and trends. Case studies help you apply concepts to actual situations you may encounter in practice. Learning objectives indicate what you will be learning in each chapter and serve as checkpoints when studying for examinations. A glossary makes it easy for you to look up key terms. NEW! Eight completely new chapters cover Theory and Practice Models for Occupational Therapy With Children, Development of Occupations and Skills From Infancy Through Adolescence, Therapeutic Use of Self, Observational Assessment and Activity Analysis, Evaluation Interpretation, and Goal Writing, Documenting Outcomes, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, and Vision Impairment. NEW! A focus on theory and principles Practice Models promote clinical reasoning. NEW! Emphasis on application of theory and frames of reference in practice appear throughout chapters in book. NEW! Developmental milestone tables serve as quick reference guides. NEW! Online materials included to help facilitate your understanding of what's covered in the text. NEW! Textbook is organized into six sections to fully describe the occupational therapy process and follow OTPF.
Call Number: RJ53.O25 O22 2019ISBN: 9780323512633Publication Date: 2019-11-07
Functional and Occupational Performance in Older Adults by
Support the health, well-being, and quality of life of older adults! Here's the ideal resource for students who are preparing to work with older adults. This text discusses the complexity of the aging experience, the science that contributes to positive aging, and the specific considerations that occupational therapy practitioners must bring to their efforts to support older adults. You'll find descriptions of the normal aging process, discussions of how health and social factors can impact your clients' ability to participate in valued occupations, and guidance on how to develop occupation-based strategies for maximizing their well-being. New Chapters! Features nine new chapters, Aging and Culture; Identity, Sexuality, and Relationships; Legal and Ethical Issues; Special Concerns in Care and Prevention; Metabolic Conditions; Home Management; Health Management and Sleep; Community Mobility and Driving; Caregiving; and Acute Care Services. Revised! Features a reconceptualized section, Aging: Body Structures and Body Functions, with chapters addressing both normal aging and health conditions to provide a holistic perspective on functional and occupational performance in older adults and OT interventions. Updated & Expanded! Addresses interprofessional practice as interprofessional collaboration to emphasize its importance in today's healthcare environment and to clients. New! Threads "Case Studies" throughout the chapters to encourage in-the-moment application of the content, and revisits those related to health conditions in the chapters on service delivery to help students appreciate the delivery of OT services in different care contexts. Revised and Updated! Incorporates the most current evidence available and presents strategies supported by the evidence in "Promoting Best Practices" boxes. New! Summarizes the assessments most relevant to older adult practice, occupation, and psychometrically best practices in an assessment table organized by ICF factors. Encourages clinical reasoning with a "Mini-Case Study" and "Provocative Questions" at the beginning of each chapter and "Critical-Thinking Questions" at the end of each chapter with the author's suggested responses in Appendix A. Reviews assessment and intervention strategies. Uses the International Classification of Function (ICF; World Health Organization) as its major organizing principle.
ISBN: 9781719647908Publication Date: 2024-02-15
Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction (PRINT ONLY) by
Designed to help students become effective, reflective practitioners, this fully updated edition of the most widely used occupational therapy text for the course continues to emphasize the "whys" as well as the "how-tos" of holistic assessment and treatment. Now in striking full color and co-edited by renowned educators and authors Diane Powers Dirette and Sharon Gutman, Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction, Eighth Edition features expert coverage of the latest assessment techniques and most recent trends in clinical practice. In addition, the book now explicitly integrates "Frames of Reference" to help students connect theories to practice and features a new six-part organization, thirteen all-new chapters, new pedagogy, and more. NEW! An expert new co-editor team brings a breadth of experience to this edition. NEW! A Frames of Reference section shows students how to connect the concepts to actual practice. NEW! Five new chapters in Sections 1, 2, and 3 cover Documentation of Occupational Therapy Services (Chapter 6), Visual Perceptual Assessment and Intervention (Chapter 9), Communication Assessment and Intervention (18), Cranial Nerve Assessment (20), and Assistive Technology (Chapter 26). NEW! Eight new chapters in Sections 4, 5, and 6 cover Biomechanical, Rehabilitation: Motor Learning and Task-Oriented Approach; Functional Uses of Neurological Approaches; Diabetes; Alzheimer's Disease and Other Dementias; Chronic Pain and Fibromyalgia; Sleep Disorders Secondary to Orthopedic and Neurological Disorders; and Psychosocial Adaptation to Disability. NEW! Major updates to the coverage of Rehabilitation Technology prepare students for practice in today's rapidly changing environment. NEW! Online videos are now referred to at relevant areas of the text to further reinforce concepts and bring techniques to life. Case Examples describe both the OT process and the clinical reasoning behind the interventions. Evidence tables summarize research studies to equip students with the best evidence for the effectiveness of the interventions. Assessment tables highlight the psychometric properties and the strengths and weaknesses of individual assessment methods.
Call Number: RM735 .O33 2021ISBN: 9781975110550Publication Date: 2020-02-07
Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy by
A leading resource for occupational therapy practitioners and students for 20 years, now updated with the latest information in the profession, Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Seventh Edition is a resource for daily practice and academic training. Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Seventh Edition by Dr. Karen Jacobs and Laela Simon remains the only comprehensive dictionary available specifically for occupational therapy. Containing more than 4,000 words and definitions, more than 60 appendices, and illustrations, graphs, and tables throughout, this definitive text has been updated with the latest information in current occupational therapy practice. New appendices in the Seventh Edition include: Commonly Used Assessments Emerging Practice Areas Expand Your Knowledge Grading Versus Adapting a Task Hand Pathologies State Regulatory Entities Theories and Frames of Reference Useful Apps A handy, conveniently sized reference in an easy-to-use format, Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Seventh Edition gives occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, faculty, and students the most pertinent information they need day to day, right at their fingertips.
ISBN: 9781630917623Publication Date: 2020-04-01
Willard and Spackman's Occupational Therapy (PRINT ONLY) by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Celebrating 100 years of the Occupational Therapy profession, this Centennial Edition of Willard & Spackman's Occupational Therapy continues to live up to its well-earned reputation as the foundational book that welcomes students into their newly chosen profession. Now fully updated to reflect current practice, the 13th Edition remains the must-have resource that students that will use throughout their entire OT program, from class to fieldwork and throughout their careers. One of the top texts informing the NBCOT certification exam, it is a must have for new practitioners. Packed with first-person narratives that offer a unique perspective on the lives of those living with disease, this edition offers much that is new as it continues to help students and clinicians develop the knowledge and skills they need to apply a client-centered, evidence-based and culturally relevant approach across the full spectrum of practice settings. NEW! Each Unit is now reflective of the nomenclature for the new domains and processes covered in AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, 3rd Edition. NEW! "Centennial Notes" sections showcase perspectives from the history of OT, providing inspiring context to students entering the profession. NEW! A stronger global focus, which reflects more the professional as a global entity, prepares students to work effectively in today's global environment NEW! Coverage of the latest considerations in the field prepares students to work with the full range of clients, including veterans suffering from PTSD, the homeless, and individuals who identify as LGBTQI. COMPREHENSIVE: The 13th Edition is the only text in the field to cover the full breadth and scope of occupational therapy, summarizing important and complex material in a completely accessible way. INTEGRATED: Integrated coverage of evaluation and intervention processes gives students a holistic overview of the field. PRACTICE-ORIENTED: Case Studie s serve as models for problem-solving in dealing with clients, practice issues, and managing OT services and staff. INVITING: A striking full-color design filled with photos and illustrations welcomes today's students into this classic text. STUDENT-FRIENDLY : In-text learning aids, including Chapter Outlines. Learning Objectives, and Practice Dilemmas, help students master the material and prepare them for the current realities of OT practice. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Call Number: RM735 .W55 2019ISBN: 9781975106584Publication Date: 2018-10-17
Functional Anatomy for Occupational Therapy (PRINT ONLY) by Call Number: QM100 .S559 2021ISBN: 9780998785011Publication Date: 2021-12-01
Measurement of Joint Motion by
Measure joint range of motion with the manual that set the standard. Here is all of the guidance you need to identify impairments successfully and assess rehabilitation status effectively. Thoroughly updated and revised to reflect today's most current and complete research, the 5th Edition of this classic book retains the unique features that have set this manual apart as the reference of choice. For each measurable joint in the body, you'll find a consistent, easy-to-follow format and exceptional photographs that depict range of motion and alignment, making it easy for you to visualize the examination and technique for each joint motion and muscle length test. See what students are saying online about the previous edition... Great book "This book is a great guide to goniometry. I especially love the Appendix that has all the normal values. It's a must have for anyone starting out in physical therapy." Measurements made easy "This book is helpful because there are actual photographs that show you how to measure various ROM's. No confusing drawings. just pictures. So helpful. They also do a great job of summarizing the most important tips for each joint (i.e. normal ROM's, where to place the goni, etc.)"
ISBN: 9780803645660Publication Date: 2016-11-15
Trail Guide to the Body (PRINT ONLY) by
By owning Biel's TRAIL GUIDE TO THE BODY, students gain exclusive access to an empowering repository of mostly free study tools. Convenient, easy-to-access palpation videos, overlay images, interactive mobile apps and more are available online for students wherever and whenever they need them.
Call Number: QM23.2 .B53 2019ISBN: 9780998785066Publication Date: 2019-09-30
Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research (PRINT ONLY) by
Combining the latest thinking in the field with practical, step-by-step guidance, the Third Edition of John W. Creswell and Vicki L. Plano Clark's Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research now includes seven mixed methods designs with accompanying journal articles illustrating each design. The authors walk readers through the entire research process and present updated examples from published mixed methods studies drawn from multiple disciplines. In addition, this new edition includes information about the dynamic and evolving nature of the field of mixed methods research, four additional methodological approaches, and coverage of new directions in mixed methods.
Call Number: H62 .C6962 2018ISBN: 9781483344379Publication Date: 2017-10-06
The Entry Level Occupational Therapy Doctorate Capstone by
The purpose of The Entry Level Occupational Therapy Doctorate Capstone: A Framework for The Experience and Project is to provide a step-by-step guide for the development, planning, implementation and dissemination of the entry-level occupational therapy doctoral capstone experience and project. The first entry-level occupational therapy doctorate program was established in 1999, but even now there is a scarcity of occupational therapy resources to guide faculty, prepare students and to socialize mentors to the capstone experience and project. The Entry Level Occupational Therapy Doctorate Capstone by Drs. Elizabeth DeIuliis and Julie Bednarski is the first available resource in the field of occupational therapy devoted to the doctoral capstone. Each chapter provides sample resources and useful documents appropriate for use with occupational therapy doctoral students, faculty, capstone coordinators and site mentors. Included Inside: Templates to develop the MOU, individualized doctoral student objectives, and evaluations Examples of how to structure capstone project proposals Learning activities to guide the literature search and development of a problem statement Strategies of how to approach sustainability and program evaluation of the capstone project Recommendations for structure and formatting of the final written document Additional scholarly products derived from the project Other scholarly deliverables including formats for professional presentations and submissible papers The Entry Level Occupational Therapy Doctorate Capstone: A Framework for The Experience and Project will be the first of its kind to serve as a textbook to provide recommendations that will benefit various stakeholders among the capstone team.
ISBN: 1630916110Publication Date: 2019-11-19
Foundations of Clinical Research by
Become a successful evidence-based practitioner How do you evaluate the evidence? Is the information accurate, relevant and meaningful for clinical decision making? Did the design fit the research questions and was the analysis and interpretation of data appropriate? Here are all the materials you need to take your first steps as evidence-based practitioners...how to use the design, data and analysis of research as the foundation for effective clinical decision making. You'll find support every step of the way as you progress from the foundations of clinical research and concepts of measurement through the processes of designing studies and analyzing data to writing their own research proposal. Five Stars. "Best book I have read explaining research. Not too complicated - but very thorough."--Amazon Reviewer Simply the best. "This is such a valuable resource. Bought it for the DPT program I am enrolled in. I will keep it as an excellent resource. So well written."--Amazon Reviewer ... this is a great book." It explains concepts so well! Our professor changed to this book the next year. All the OTs and PTs in my PhD program have bought this book. This is in my keep forever collection. Everyone in my department has the book and only loans it out with strict instructions for its return."--Kelly A., Amazon Reviewer
Call Number: R853.C55 .P678 2020ISBN: 9780803661134Publication Date: 2020-01-17
