Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citing your Sources
Tools to manage references and generate citations
Resources & Related Guides
AMA MANUAL of STYLE, 11th EDITION by "The AMA Manual of Style, 11th edition, is a must-have guide for those seeking to publish research findings and anyone involved in medical, health, or scientific writing and publishing. The manual offers guidance on nuts-and-bolts topics including punctuation, capitalization, and grammar. It also provides guidance on how to navigate the dilemmas that authors, researchers and their institutions, medical editors and publishers, writers, and members of the news media who cover scientific research confront on a daily basis. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this 11th edition thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues, authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, and intellectual property, in addition to preparation of articles for publication, style, terminology, measurement, and quantification"-- Provided by publisher.
Publication Date: 2020-03-02
Citation Organization for Beginners
RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool. It is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
Alternatives to RefWorks
RefWorks is the reference manager recommended and supported by the Himmelfarb Library. The following are alternatives to RefWorks:
Create bibliographies in MLA, APA, Chicago, or Turabian styles only. Create a bib. using auto-fill or manual options. Register and login to save your bibliographies.
Registration required. Supports multiple citation styles.
MLA, APA, and Chicago styles only. Type and go! Login optional.
Free to GW students, staff and faculty.
KnightCite Citation Creator
Online citation generator service provided by the Hekman Library of Calvin College. Create citation in APA, MLA and Chicago style.
Free reference manager and academic social network helps you organize your research & collaborate with others online
Microsoft Word 2019 has a reference management tool built into the Reference toolbar, but you will only save your reference locally onto the document.
Works with Firefox only. Download extension from Zotero website. Supports hundreds of different citation styles.
Use ZoteroBib for short writing pieces or to quickly share lists of references. Use a reference management tool, such as Zotero, RefWorks, or EndNote for more extensive projects, literature reviews, and collaborative management.
- Create bibliographies quickly by entering URLs, DOIs, ISBNs, PMIDs, arXiv IDs, or titles.
- Over 9,700 different styles available, including APA, AMA, MLA, and publisher-specific styles.
- Copy bibliography to your clipboard, download a file, save to Zotero, or share a link to your bibliography online.
- No software downloads or log-ins required - the bibliography is saved to your browser's local storage.