Textbooks
BRS Pathology by
This powerful, easy-to-use resource presents the essentials of pathology in the popular Board Review Series outline format that highlights the most tested topics for the USMLE Step 1. Packed with new content; high-yield topics; concise descriptions; more than 450 USMLE-style questions with complete answers and explanations; and full-color illustrations, photomicrographs, and radiologic images, BRS Pathology, Sixth Edition, provides everything needed for course success and board exam prep. An easy-to-scan outline format with bolded key terms and summary tables enables concise review and exam preparation. Chapter-ending exams focus on high-yield, clinical content. An end-of-book Comprehensive Exam helps students gauge their mastery of key topics. New cross-references in the answers to the Comprehensive Exam use an outline format (section number/letter) to facilitate efficient study and easy linking in all formats. Many new full-color photomicrographsand schematic illustration provide visual learning and review. Key topic icons help students quickly locate important content. An online interactive question bank features all the questions from the book for anytime, anywhere test preparation and review. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Call Number: RB 32 .G87 2021ISBN: 9781975136628Publication Date: 2020-04-22
Memmler's the Human Body in Health and Disease (PRINT ONLY) by
Updated in content and pedagogy, this 14th Edition of Memmler's the Human Body in Health and Disease has helped hundreds of thousands of allied health students, including those with little background in science, to master anatomy and physiology. From its pioneering use of phonetic pronunciations to its pedagogically effective skin-to-bone transparencies of the human body, and increased focus on visualization, the new edition continues to set the standard for the one-semester course.This classic text provides beautifully illustrated coverage of the essentials of human anatomy, physiology, and the effects of disease. Throughout the book, anatomical art illustrates concepts with accuracy, simplicity, and elegance; medical case studies enhanced with additional clinical content to demonstrate the relevance of the content to a career in the health professions; and proven pedagogy helps students master the anatomic and medical terminology they will encounter in healthcare settings.
Call Number: QP34.5 .M48 2019ISBN: 9781496380500Publication Date: 2018-12-17
Netter's Illustrated Human Pathology Updated Edition (PRINT ONLY) by
Gain critical insight into the structure-function relationships and the pathological basis of human disease with Netter's Illustrated Human Pathology. With a visually vibrant approach, this atlas provides clear and succinct representations of common human diseases by relating anatomical changes to the functional and clinical manifestations of disease and their underlying causes and mechanisms. Updated throughout, it offers a superb complement to more comprehensive textbooks and presentations of pathology, including course syllabi. It can also be used as an adjunct for study of gross and microscopic pathology specimens in laboratory exercises, and makes a great review resource for students, medical residents, physicians and other healthcare professionals. Grasp and retain key pathologic concepts and conditions. Beginning with a concise summary of the various pathological processes and diseases, each chapter consists of illustrations of pathological processes and diseases accompanied by concise text aimed at clarifying and expanding the information presented in the illustrations. Gain a superb visual understanding through more than 380 classic Netter and new Netter-style images, gross and microscopic photographs and tables. Reference information effortlessly with numerous tables throughout including 452 figures and 255 slides. Take your learning farther with Student Consult access.
Call Number: RB33 .B932 2014ISBN: 9780323220897Publication Date: 2013-10-22
Rapid Review Pathology (PRINT ONLY) by
Whether you're preparing for the USMLE Step 1, Step 2, or studying for course exams, Rapid Review Pathology, 5th Edition by acclaimed author Dr. Edward Goljan is your go-to guide for up-to-date, essential pathology information throughout medical school. User-friendly features that make this comprehensive review tool the top choice of students worldwide include an outline format, full-color layout, High-Yield Margin Notes, Key Points, and a strong clinical correlation throughout. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and animations, designed to produce a more rounded learning experience. You'll also find approximately 500 new and updated USMLE-style questions, as well as new Integration Links that provide online access to additional images and schematics for further visual supplement to key areas of the text. Many new high-yield, integrated margin notes and numerous summary tables for more efficient studying and understanding of disease processes. Updated content based on Dr. Goljan's feedback from educators and medical students. More than 1,100 full-color photographs and schematic diagrams (many are new!) that improve recognition of key pathology images. Arrows and circles identify must-know details of the pathology.
Call Number: RB120 .G654 2019ISBN: 9780323476683Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Robbins and Cotran Atlas of Pathology by
Designed to complement Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition and Robbins Basic Pathology, 10th Edition, the full-color Robbins and Cotran Atlas of Pathology offers more than 1,800 outstanding illustrations that vividly depict the most common diseases covered in pathology courses and USMLE exams. Covering all major topic areas in organ system pathology and incorporating the latest understanding of pathophysiology and molecular medicine, it is a quick visual reference or review for students and professionals alike. Quickly compare gross, microscopic, and radiologic images with examples of normal organs and tissues. Review just the key information you need to know with help from extensive legends that provide convenient summaries and highlight key aspects of patient care and diagnostic strategies. Understand the correlation between pathology and clinical history, physical exam findings, and clinical laboratory tests. Visualize key pathologic findings with crystal clarity through over 100 new or updated images. Access the complete, fully searchable text plus BONUS e-only figures via the accompanying downloadable eBook. Study effectively with this unique companion product! Use as a standalone atlas or alongside the other Robbins 'family' titles. All chapters have been thoroughly revised to reflect the chapter organisation and new content found in Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323640183Publication Date: 2020-11-09
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by
Readable and highly illustrated, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition presents an in-depth, state-of-the-art overview of human diseases and their cellular and molecular basis. This best-selling text delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. More than 1,000 high-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. This superb learning package also includes an enhanced eBook with a full complement of ancillary content on Student Consult. Provides uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for coursework. Covers the hot topics you need to know about, including novel therapies for hepatitis C, classification of lymphomas, unfolded protein response, non-apoptotic pathways of cell death, coronavirus infections, liquid biopsy for cancer detection, regulation of iron absorption, clonal hematopoiesis and atherosclerosis, thrombotic microangiopathies, heparin-induced thrombocytopenias, inflammatory myopathies, genetic tools for treatment of cystic fibrosis, and many more. Uses an outstanding full-color, user-friendly design to simplify your study and quickly direct you to the information you need to know, with learning features such as boldface overviews at the beginning of each section, key concepts boxes, suggested readings, schematic diagrams that illustrate complex concepts, and new gross and microscopic figures for clarity of morphology. Brings you up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing, mechanisms of disease, personalized medicine and its impact on treatment of human diseases, the role of microbiome and metabolome in non-communicable diseases, and much more. Provides access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries online: pathology case studies, videos, self-assessment questions, Targeted Therapy boxes that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases, interactive cases, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: RB111 .R62 2021ISBN: 9780323531139Publication Date: 2020-06-15
Robbins and Kumar Basic Pathology by
Readable, well-illustrated, and concise, Robbins and Kumar's Basic Pathology, 11th Edition, offers today's busy students a rich understanding of all essential pathology concepts from trusted names in the field. This updated edition thoroughly covers key pathologic processes and the time-honored tools of gross and microscopic analysis, while also retaining a strong emphasis on clinicopathologic correlations and the impact of molecular pathology on the practice of medicine. Outstanding artwork and schematic drawings, as well as a robust eBook experience with extensive additional features, make complex concepts easier to learn and retain. Includes fully updated clinical topics throughout. Features high-quality photomicrographs, gross photos, and radiologic images, as well as new artwork and over 150 new schematic diagrams that help summarize key or complex disease mechanisms. Contains a new Rapid Review section that uses bulleted summary boxes to deliver essential take-home messages and help you focus on the fundamentals. Includes tables of relevant laboratory tests for each chapter that link pathophysiology of disease and diagnostic testing. Highlights pathogenesis, morphology, and pathophysiologic content throughout. Features increased representation of diverse populations throughout the text, including clinical photographs of skin lesions in multiple skin types and a new section on the role of socially defined race in health disparities. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud-as well as access bonus content, including case studies, additional gross and microscopic figures, and more.
Call Number: RB111 .R66 2023ISBN: 9780323790185Publication Date: 2022-12-05
Rubin's Pathology by
With a simple approach to essential information, Rubin's Pathology: Mechanisms of Human Disease​ establishes the foundation for medical training and practice and delivers the perfect balance of basic pathology and bedside perspective to confidently and efficiently equip students for clinical success. More accessible than ever, this eighth edition emphasizes the coverage students need most--disease mechanisms, integration of mechanisms into organ system pathology, and application of pathobiology to diagnostic medicine--in an approachable format with systems-based instruction techniques in mind. Comprehensively revised and updated content reflects the latest approaches to pathology from global leaders in the field and ensures a clinically relevant understanding of key pathology competencies. Comprehensively revised coverage simplifies the essentials of pathology and ensures a clinically relevant understanding of key competencies and techniques. Updated content reflects the international expertise of some of the most innovative authorities on pathology. New systems-based instruction approach ensures a practical understanding of essential techniques. Approachable format makes learning engaging and efficient. More than 1700 images--line drawings, micrographs, and gross pathology images--clarify concepts in stunning detail. Bolded key terms and bulleted lists reinforce important information at a glance. Online resources provide instant access to 29 virtual microscopy videos narrated by Dr. Emanuel Rubin, cases, and suggested readings. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more.
Call Number: RB111 .E856 2020ISBN: 9781496386144Publication Date: 2019-10-30
Atlas of Practical Genitourinary Pathology (PRINT ONLY) by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A full-color text and atlas of common and rare genitourinary conditions for practicing pathologists A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Atlas of Practical Genitourinary Pathology teaches the surgical pathologist how to accurately diagnose and effectively manage the full spectrum of common and rare genitourinary diseases. Completely current with the latest advances in the field, it is one of the first texts to address the new diagnostic markers for GU tumors and the increasing application of immunohistochemistry. Featuring chapters with easy-to-read headings such as Definitions, Clinical Features, Gross Pathology, and Histology, Atlas of Practical Genitourinary Pathology is logically divided into two parts: Male Reproductive Surgical Pathology and Urinary Tract Surgical Pathology. More than 1,500 full-color histology slides assist in fast sample recognition and the concise bulleted text provides the need-to-know data for proper diagnoses and treatment.
Call Number: RC871 .Y36 2015ISBN: 9780071798822Publication Date: 2014-11-25
Genitourinary Pathology by
Genitourinary Pathology, by Drs. Ming Zhou and Cristina Magi-Galluzzi, a volume in the ;Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology Series,packs all of today's most essential information on genitourinary pathology into a compact, high-yield format! Well-organized and segmented by type of infectious organism, the book's pragmatic approach complemented by abundant full-color, high-quality photomicrographs and clinical photos, and at-a-glance tables makes it easy to access ;the information you need to quickly and accurately detect and identify molecular and genetic mechanisms of disease. "A useful general textbook of GU pathology." Reviewed by: Pathlab.org, March 2015 "I truly believe the second edition improves on what was already an outstanding book, and I am confident you will enjoy the latest edition of the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series." Foreword by: John R. Goldblum, MD, June 2015 Easily review normal histology before examining abnormal findings so you can avoid false positives. Gain a superb visual understanding of important histologic features with hundreds of full-color illustrations representing a wide variety of pathologic lesions. Benefit from the same highly practical format as other titles in this series: consistent headings throughout, summary boxes for pathologic and clinical features, high quality photomicrographs and clinical photos, and a logical organization by type of infectious organism. Avoid incorrect diagnoses with a separate section on artifacts and pitfalls that highlights common problems you may encounter. Get up-to-date, comprehensive coverage of the field, including new renal cell carcinoma subtypes and intraductal carcinoma of the prostate; newer immunohistochemical and molecular markers; and updates to the Gleason Grading system for prostate cancer, Fuhrman Grading system for renal cell carcinoma, and TNM classification for GU malignancies. Access the fully searchable contents of the book at Expert Consult. The Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology Series answers the call for fresh, affordable, and easy-to-use guidance. Each region-specific volume provides all of the most essential information on the pathologic entities encountered in practice. Series Editor: John R. Goldblum, MD, FACP, FASCP, FACG
ISBN: 9780323188272Publication Date: 2015-01-07
Head and Neck Pathology by
An essential foundation text for residents and pathologists, the third edition of Head and Neck Pathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, has been fully revised to include recent advances in the field. Featuring a highly templated, easy-to-use format and new information throughout, this practical, affordable resource by Drs. Lester D. R. Thompson and Justin A. Bishop is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. Inclusion of a wide range of diagnoses in both head and neck and endocrine organ pathology. A focus on the specific features of selected non-neoplastic and neoplastic entities, including broad and in-depth differential diagnoses. Clinical and Pathologic Features summarized in quick-reference boxes for fast access to information. A highly templated format that includes pertinent clinical, imaging, and management/prognostic features; pathologic features; ancillary studies; differential diagnosis; and meaningfully chosen bibliography. Over a thousand full-color photographs illustrate important pathologic features, enabling you to form a differential diagnosis and compare your findings with actual cases. Contributions from internationally recognized expert pathologists, keeping you up to date with the latest information in the field. New criteria as established by the 2017 World Health Organization Classification of Head and Neck Tumours and the 2017 World Health Organization Classification of Endocrine Organ Tumours. A new oropharynx section, separated from the oral cavity. Inclusion of unique newly identified molecular information in many tumor entities. Coverage of NUT carcinoma, HPV-associated adenoid cystic-like carcinoma, sinonasal renal cell-like adenocarcinoma, SMARCB1 (INI-1) deficient sinonasal carcinoma, biphenotypic sinonasal sarcoma, neuroendocrine carcinomas, oropharyngeal carcinoma, polycystic disease and sclerosing polycystic adenosis, secretory carcinoma, cribriform adenocarcinoma of the minor salivary glands, variants of myoepithelioma, clear cell carcinoma, and changes in gnathic cysts classification. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323479165Publication Date: 2018-02-01
Heptinstall's Pathology of the Kidney by
If you're looking to deepen your understanding of kidney disease, look no further than Heptinstall's Pathology of the Kidney, 7th Edition. Authored by the world's most accomplished renal pathologists, this image-rich text conveys the intricacies and comprehensiveness of renal disease, offering powerful diagnostic and treatment recommendations from decades of clinical research. Stay up to date on the cutting edge of kidney research and treatment and offer your patients the best therapeutic options and preventative measures available today with this all-inclusive two volume set. Key Features: Including over 1500 color images, diagrammatic line drawings, easy reference tables, and figures Deconstructs kidney pathology, etiology, pathogenesis, demographics, and epidemiology Clinical correlations feature presentation, outcomes, and guidance on patient management Up to date recent studies in clinico-pathologic correlation and patient management Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Call Number: RC903.9 .H47 2015ISBN: 9781451144116Publication Date: 2014-09-04
Ocular Pathology by
Bridge the gap between ophthalmology and pathology with the 8th Edition of this comprehensive, easy-to-understand reference from Drs. Myron Yanoff and Joseph W. Sassani. Designed to keep you up to date with every aspect of the field, from current imaging techniques to genetics and molecular biology to clinical pearls, Ocular Pathology provides the concise yet complete information you need for board exams and clinical practice. Includes new coverage of genetics and molecular biology, complications in diabetes mellitus, and the role of new drugs and other treatments for macular degeneration. Covers the latest imaging techniques, including optical coherence tomography (OCT), anterior segment OCT (AS-OCT) and OCT-angiography. Contains new images throughout that provide updated correlations between pathological and clinical aspects of each disorder. Clinicopathological correlations are presented with side-by-side image comparisons to make clinical pearl boxes even more useful. Features more than 1,900 illustrations from the collections of internationally renowned leaders in ocular pathology. Presents information in a quick-reference outline format - ideal for today's busy physician. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323547550Publication Date: 2019-02-15
Pathology of the Female Reproductive Tract by
Covering a comprehensive range of common, rare, benign and malignant lesions, Pathology of the Female Reproductive Tract, 3rd Edition, authored by an international panel of subspecialty experts, brings you the latest scientific and diagnostic information for diseases of the female reproductive tract. From basic concepts of pathophysiology and diagnostic criteria to clinical correlation, this updated medical reference book delivers an integrated and practical approach to diagnosis and management of women with reproductive tract disorders. Quickly and easily access key information with user-friendly bullet points, diagnostic flowcharts, decision-making algorithms, summary tables, and take-home messages, as well as a "Road Map" at the beginning of each chapter for effortless navigation. Avoid diagnostic errors with the help of practical, expert advice on common pitfalls in differential diagnosis. Browse the complete contents from any location with online access at Expert Consult. Take optimal advantage of the most recent and clinically useful ancillary diagnostic methods, including molecular biomarkers, immunohistochemistry, and genetic studies. Provide the most accurate and up-to-date diagnostic and prognostic indicators possible by familiarizing yourself with the latest classification and staging systems for all diseases and disorders of the female genital tract. Stay completely current on the latest histological and molecular standards for diagnosis and prognosis. Clearly visualize the appearance of each tumor or tumor-like lesion being discussed through improved and updated images.
ISBN: 9780702044977Publication Date: 2014-03-27
Practical Pulmonary Pathology: a Diagnostic Approach by
Part of the in-depth and practical Pattern Recognition series, Practical Pulmonary Pathology, 3rd Edition, helps you accurately identify and interpret neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the lungs by using a pattern-based approach. Leading diagnosticians in pulmonary pathology guide you from a histological pattern, through the appropriate work-up, around the pitfalls, and to the best diagnosis. Superb, full-color illustrations capture key pathological patterns for a full range of common and rare conditions, and a "visual index" at the beginning of the book directs you to the exact location of in-depth diagnostic guidance. A user-friendly design color-codes patterns to specific entities, and key points are summarized in tables, charts, and graphs so you can quickly and easily find what you are looking for. Sweeping content updates keep you at the forefront of recent findings regarding pulmonary hypertension, pediatric lung disease, and all major neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the lung. An online virtual microscope provides access to more than 150 digital slides. A new chapter on Pulmonary Function Testing for Pathologists brings you up to date with relevant aspects of these key tests. Improved pattern call-outs are now linked directly within the chapter, reinforcing the patterns for more efficient and complete understanding. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323442848Publication Date: 2017-10-20
Radiographic Pathology (PRINT ONLY) by
This proven, easy-to-understand text is designed to help radiographic technology students succeed in the radiographic pathology course and prepare for the AART radiography exam. The only pathology textbook available today that adheres directly to newest ARRT and ASRT curriculum guidelines, this book concentrates on crucial components and minimizes extraneous information to ensure that study time is focused on what's important. Packed with high-quality images relevant to a radiographic technology career, this text helps students: o Lay the foundation for correctly identifying pathologies on X-Rays and other imaging modalities, including CT, MRI, Ultrasound, and PET. o Understand the clinical relevance of good images with Case Studies that provide real-life applicability to obtaining and evaluating images of pathologic conditions o Prepare for clinical challenges with end-of-chapter Clinical and Radiographic Characteristics of Common Pathologies charts that provide an "at a glance" overview of common diseases. o Master key information and prepare for tests with built-in learning aids, including Goals and Objectives, Key Terms, Critical Thinking Discussion Questions, and Chapter Recaps, which are bulleted chapter summaries. To further ensure success, the book is accompanied by a set of FREE ancillaries, including Image Bank, Student PowerPoints, and Chapter Outlines. A Workbook is also available for extra practice.
Call Number: RC78 .L554 2014ISBN: 9781451112146Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Rosen's Breast Pathology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Widely recognized as the gold standard reference in the field,Rosen's Breast Pathologyprovides comprehensive, up-to-date information on diseases of the breast from renowned experts at four leading medical centers, masterfully edited by Dr. Paul P. Rosen. The revised fifth edition covers the latest advances in immunohistochemical, pathobiological, and molecular aspects of benign and malignant breast diseases, helping you reach an accurate diagnosis with confidence. It's an ideal reference for all physicians and medical personnel who require a thorough knowledge of breast pathology, including pathologists, surgeons, oncologists, radiologists, and radiation oncologists. Covers clinical and radiological presentation, epidemiology, gross pathology, microscopic pathology, treatment, and prognosis (when relevant) for each disease entity. Addresses surgical and oncological aspects of various diseases wherever appropriate. Thoroughly updated throughout to reflect the latest advances in this dynamic area of practice. Features more than 2,000 high-quality images that highlight key diagnostic features, including hundreds of new illustrations. Stresses the role of pathology in the multidisciplinary management of breast diseases. Emphasizes histopathological features of breast diseases. Recommends appropriate management for specific breast diseases. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496398918Publication Date: 2020-12-09
Differential Diagnoses in Surgical Pathology: Gastrointestinal System by
Systematically solve tough diagnostic challenges in GI pathology with Differential Diagnoses in Surgical Pathology: Gastrointestinal Tract! This clinical reference in the Differential Diagnoses in Surgical Pathology Series uses select images of clinical and pathological findings together with succinct, expert instructions, to guide you through the decision-making process by distinguishing between commonly confused Gastrointestinal lesions. Key Features Efficiently work through more than 150 differential diagnoses in GI pathology presented side-by-side for easy comparison, including the most common entities as well as selected rarer diseases. Get all the assistance you need at a glance with concise, bulleted summaries of clinical and pathological findings and view relevant pictorial examples on the corresponding pages. View high-quality images of similar-looking lesions side by side for easy comparison Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition , offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages , references, and more for easy navigation A Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text The ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Call Number: RD540 .M66 2015ISBN: 9781451191899Publication Date: 2015-03-03
Gattuso's Differential Diagnosis in Surgical Pathology by
Widely used by residents, fellows, and practicing pathologists around the world, Gattuso's Differential Diagnosis in Surgical Pathology provides a user-friendly road map to the main criteria to consider in order to differentiate between a variety of potential diagnoses that all have a very similar appearance. This comprehensive guide helps you make informed decisions for even your most complex and challenging cases, presenting a comprehensive differential diagnosis list and comparisons for every entity discussed. The 4th Edition brings you fully up to date with updated diagnostic techniques, new classifications, and new content throughout-perfect for quick reference at every microscope in the sign-out room. Provides brief descriptions of both common and uncommon disorders, with an emphasis on differential diagnosis, along with excellent illustrative examples of the pathology and carefully selected references. Streamlines the differential diagnosis process by offering a series of bullet point checklists that detail the respective features of the entities being considered. Discusses a complete range of tumors and tumor-like conditions in all organ systems. Contains updated information on personalized/precision medicine especially as it pertains to the immunotherapies; for example, PDL-1 targeted therapies in many cancers. Includes new classification of neuroendocrine tumors, new classification and updates of follicular variant of papillary thyroid carcinoma, and a new section on the most common metastatic tumors and utilization of ancillary techniques for diagnosis and molecular studies. Uses a reader friendly, outline format for each diagnosis that details clinical information, epidemiology, gross and microscopic findings, ancillary stains and tests, differential diagnoses, and pearls of wisdom. Features 1,400 full-color macro- and micrographs that provide a realistic basis for comparison of what you see under the microscope. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
ISBN: 9780323661652Publication Date: 2021-03-01
Pathology of Infectious Diseases by
Pathology of Infectious Diseases, by Gary W. Procop, MD, A Volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology Series, packs all of today's most essential information on infectious disease pathology into a compact, high-yield format! Well-organized and segmented by type of infectious organism, the book's pragmatic approach complemented by abundant full-color, high-quality photomicrographs and clinical photos, and at-a-glance tables makes it easy to access the information you need to quickly and accurately detect and identify pathogenic organisms. Chapters on immunohistochemical and molecular techniques as well as artifacts and pitfalls guide you to accurate detection and identifications. Quickly find the information you need thanks to a well-organized, user-friendly format with templated headings, detailed illustrations, at-a-glance tables, and segmentation by type of infectious organism-viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic. Avoid common problems that can lead to an incorrect diagnosis. A special section on artifacts and pitfalls shows you what to look for. Get superb visual guidance from an abundance of full-color, high-quality photomicrographs and clinical photos. Employ the latest diagnostic advancements including immunohistochemical and molecular techniques. Access the full text from any computer, including the entire image bank and links to PubMed, at expertconsult. Learn from one of the very best. Dr. Gary W. Procop, one of the most outstanding young clinical pathologists in medical microbiology in American medicine, shares his vision about how new technologies may be used to rapidly identify pathogenic organisms and detect resistance to treatment regimens. Recognized for distinguished research contributions to the discipline of clinical microbiology, he was the recipient of the 2007 American Society for Microbiology (ASM) BD Award for Research in Clinical Microbiology and elected to the American Academy of Microbiology in recognition of his scientific achievements. Implement proven diagnostic approaches such as real-time PCR assays and pepticnucleic acid probes with guidance from the pioneer of these techniques! Up- to-date essential information on infectious disease pathology in a compact high yield format
ISBN: 9781437707625Publication Date: 2014-09-03
Pulmonary Pathology by
Now fully revised to include recent advances in the field, the second edition of Pulmonary Pathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, is an essential foundation text for pathologists. The popular template format makes it easy to use, and new information throughout brings you up to date with what's new in pulmonary pathology and pulmonary medicine, including molecular genetics and personalized medicine therapies. Practical and affordable, this resource is ideal for study and review as well as everyday clinical practice. Coverage of both common and rare neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the lung and pleura. A focus primarily on diagnosis, with correlations to clinical and radiographic characteristics. Clinical and Pathologic Features summarized in quick-reference boxes for fast retrieval of information. Hundreds of photomicrographs and gross photographs - most in full color - depict important pathologic features, enabling you to form a differential diagnosis and compare your findings with actual cases. Contributions from internationally recognized pathologists, keeping you up to date with the latest information in the field. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Virtual Microscope slides now available online. Molecular genetics and personalized medicine therapies included throughout. New classification and approaches to diagnosis and management of pediatric diffuse lung diseases. 9/11-related lung disease and other recently described environmental lung diseases. Information on susceptibility genes for individual diseases. Viral linkage and new therapies for idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and well as information on endobronchial ultrasound-guided needle aspiration.
ISBN: 9780323393089Publication Date: 2017-02-07
