Textbooks
Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs (PRINT ONLY) by
A practical introduction to participatory program evaluation Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs provides a comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of evaluation, with a participatory model that brings stakeholders together for the good of the program. Linking community assessment, program implementation, and program evaluation, this book emphasizes practical, ongoing evaluation strategies that connect theory with application. This updated second edition includes new discussion on planning policy change programs using logic models and theory of change, plus expanded coverage of processes, outcomes, data collection, and more. Each chapter includes classroom activities and group discussion prompts, and the companion website provides worksheets, lecture slides, and a test bank for instructors. Mini cases help illustrate the real-world applications of the methods described, and expanded case studies allow students to dig deeper into practice and apply what they've learned. Accurate and effective evaluation is the key to a successful program. This book provides a thorough introduction to all aspects of this critical function, with a wealth of opportunities to apply new concepts. Learn evaluation strategies that involve all program stakeholders Link theory to practice with new mini cases and examples Understand the uses, processes, and approaches to evaluation Discover how ongoing evaluation increases program effectiveness Public and community health programs are a vital part of our social infrastructure, and the more effective they are, the more people they can serve. Proper planning is important, but continued evaluation is what keeps a program on track for the long term. Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs provides clear instruction and insightful discussion on the many facets of evaluation, with a central focus on real-world service.
Call Number: RA440.4 .H37 2017ISBN: 9781119151050Publication Date: 2016-11-14
Introduction to Public Health by
Introduction to Public Health is a foundation, introductory text addressing the principles and practice of public health. Written from a multidisciplinary perspective, the text defines the discipline of public health, the nature and scope of public health activity and the challenges that face public health in the 21st century. Designed for undergraduate health science and nursing students, the text helps readers with their understanding of the nature and scope of public health and the challenges facing the field into the future. Positions public health concepts within an Australian and New Zealand context Chapter case studies and examples to help illustrate key points Chapter reflection and review questions to assist readers with their application to practise Logical structure enabling those new to public health to grasp complex concepts and apply to current health practice New-A suite of video interviews with leading public health experts who each share a broad contextual overview of public health now and into the future Additional resources on Evolve eBook on VitalSource Instructor Resources Image Bank (tables and figures from the book) Case studies Video interviews Students Resources Student Quiz
ISBN: 0729543056Publication Date: 2019-04-08
Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health and Preventive Medicine: Sixteenth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Now in full color, the #1 text spanning the fields of public health and preventive medicine brings you fully up to date on the issues and topics you need to know Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health and Preventive Medicine has been updated and revised for the first time in more than a decade. This highly anticipated and extensive edition provides the most current information and insights available on evidence-based public health and preventive medicine, from basic methodologies of public health to principles of epidemiology and infection control to environmental toxicology to global health. The most comprehensive resource of its kind, Maxcy-Rosenau-Last Public Health and Preventive Medicine is the clear choice for anyone seeking a career in public health. Features: * Edited and written by a who's who of global experts * 384 photos and illustrations * New full-color format and improved artwork * Significantly expanded coverage of diseases and preventive methods common in international markets * Greater use of tables and summary lists for easier reading and retention
ISBN: 9781259644511Publication Date: 2021-11-11
Mckenzie's an Introduction to Community and Public Health by
Now in its Tenth Edition, An Introduction to Community & Public Health provides students with the latest trends and statistics in this evolving field. With an emphasis on developing the knowledge and skills necessary for a career in health education and health promotion, this best-selling introductory text covers such topics as epidemiology, community organizations, program planning, minority health, mental health, environmental health, drug use and abuse, safety, and occupational health. Updated with World Health Organization goals and COVID related activities as well as updated content related to Health and Human Services (HHS) priorities and critical Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) activities.
ISBN: 9781284202687Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Public Health 101 by
From clean drinking water, to seat belts, to immunizations, the impact of public health on every individual is undeniable. For undergraduates, an understanding of the foundations of public health is an essential step toward becoming an educated citizen. Public Health 101: Improving Community Health, Fourth Edition by Riegelman and Kirkwood provides a big-picture, population perspective on the determinants of health and disease and the tools available to protect and promote health. Now with a greater emphasis on community involvement and providing community based-services, the fourth edition examines the full range of options for intervention including use of the healthcare system, the public health system, and society-wide systems such as laws and taxation.Through a unique set of case studies, vignettes, and extensive examples, readers will come away with a clear understanding of how public health affects their everyday lives. They will learn and apply frameworks for thinking about public health issues and gain a deeper understanding about the health news they are exposed to each day.Updated throughout, Public Health 101, Fourth Edition offers:* New case studies on folic acid and spina bifida, the opioid epidemic, athletic health injuries, mPox, and the patient safety movement.* Interactive COVID-19 case studies revised and consolidated to take an historical perspective on the COVID-19 pandemic.* Updated materials for each chapter including Healthy People 2030, pandemic prevention, new vaccines, environmental justice and climate change, and academic health departments.* New Boxes in each chapter including misinformation/disinformation, suicide, health advocacy, national dietary guidelines, and open notes.* Improving Population Health interactive exercises retained from 3rd edition* Updated faculty resources, including Instructor's Manual with sample answers to most case studies, test bank, sample examinations, sample syllabus, PowerPoint slides, and videos with annotations for each chapter.* Navigate Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
Call Number: RA425 .R55 2025ISBN: 9781284230383Publication Date: 2023-10-20
Community and Public Health Education Methods a Practical Guide (PRINT ONLY) by
New Fifth Edition of Community and Public Health Education Methods: A Practical Guide coming in December!Updated and revised to keep pace with changes in the field, the fourth edition of Community Health Education Methods: A Practical Guide teaches students to effectively communicate health education messages and positively influence the norms and behaviors of both individuals and communities. Written by and for health education specialists, this text explores the methods used by health educators, including didactic techniques designed to guide others toward the pursuit of a healthy lifestyle.New & Key Features of the Fourth Edition:- Includes a new chapter focusing on using social media tools, such as Facebook, twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Snapchat, texting, blogging, smartphone apps, internet channels (e.g., YouTube), video vines, etc- Incorporates the new CHES competencies throughout the book, so that users understand what to expect in terms of CEHS with each chapter- Each chapter includes key terms, additional resources, interesting "Did You Know?" facts, and a series of "Community Connections" vignettes designed to provide readers with an easy-to-understand, practical application on the concepts presented.
Call Number: RA440 .C66 2019ISBN: 9781284142174Publication Date: 2018-01-03
Community Health Narratives by
Mark struggled at school and became depressed because he was bullied. Ana Maria feared leaving her home after dark due to gun violence. Mario and his family benefited from an intervention to prevent the spread of avian flu in his village. Health problems like these affect not only individuals but also families and communities. These examples suggest how community health is realized in peoples' lives and affects people living in the same place who share similar beliefs and values. For example, feeling safe within one's community is an essential part of living a healthy life. The narratives in this book explore a wide range of topics--social ties, gender and sexuality, mental illness, violence, prevention, and health-care access--that shape community health. Featuring "Communities in Action" sketches describing good community health programming as well as a guide for teachers, this book, along with its companions Global Health Narratives: A Reader for Youth and Environmental Health Narratives: A Reader for Youth (UNM Press), provides a comprehensive curriculum that examines people's health experiences across cultures and nations.
ISBN: 0826355609Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Essentials of Public Health by
New bonus e-chapter on Public Health Preparedness and Response and the COVID-19 Pandemic now available.As one of the foundational texts in the Essential Public Health series, Essentials of Public Health, Fourth Edition -- formerly authored by Turnock -- is a thorough introduction to the field of public health, covering public health practice, government public health, and careers in public health. After defining public health and looking at the current U.S. public health system and practice, the book explores population health measurement, policy development, and collaboration between the public health and the health system. Final chapters examine career opportunities in public health administration, epidemiology, public health nursing, and health education as well as emerging ones such as health information technologists, emergency managers, and more. Helpful learning tools such as chapter exercises and discussion questions, making it an ideal text to prepare your students for the profession of public health.Thoroughly revised, the Fourth Edition includes:- New unifying theme -- Public Health 3.0 and its new recommendations for 21st century public health practice -- woven throughout the first six chapters.- New content related to health reform under the ACA, including its implementation under the current administration, and its potential to improve public health- Significantly more tables and figures, references and weblinks, and new "Outside the Book" exercises to enhance learning.- Updated and enhanced chapters that detail the wide range of career opportunities in public health to help guide undergraduate students in their career path.
ISBN: 9781284173253Publication Date: 2020-04-01
The Handbook of Health Behavior Change, Fifth Edition by
This revised and updated fifth edition of the highly acclaimed "gold standard" textbook continues to provide a foundational review of health behavior change theories, research methodologies, and intervention strategies across a range of populations, age groups, and health conditions. It examines numerous, complex, and often co-occurring factors that can both positively and negatively influence people's ability to change behaviors to enhance their health including intrapersonal, interpersonal, sociocultural, environmental, systems, and policy factors, in the context of leading theoretical frameworks. Beyond understanding predictors and barriers to achieving meaningful health behavior change, the Handbook provides an updated review of the evidence base for novel and well-supported behavioral interventions and offers recommendations for future research. New content includes chapters on Sun Protection, Interventions With the Family System, and the Role of Technology in Behavior Change. Throughout the textbook, updated reviews emphasize mobile health technologies and electronic health data capture and transmission and a focus on implementation science. And the fifth edition, like the previous edition, provides learning objectives to facilitate use by course instructors in health psychology, behavioral medicine, and public health. The Handbook of Health Behavior Change, Fifth Edition, is a valuable resource for students at the graduate and advanced undergraduate level in the fields of public or population health, medicine, behavioral science, health communications, medical sociology and anthropology, preventive medicine, and health psychology. It also is a great reference for clinical investigators, behavioral and social scientists, and healthcare practitioners who grapple with the challenges of supporting individuals, families, and systems when trying to make impactful health behavior change. NEW TO THE FIFTH EDITION: Revised and updated to encompass the most current research and empirical evidence in health behavior changeIncludes new chapters on Sun Protection, Interventions With the Family System, and the Role of Technology in Behavior ChangeIncreased focus on innovations in technology in relation to health behavior change research and interventions KEY FEATURES: The most comprehensive review of behavior change interventionsProvides practical, empirically based information and tools for behavior changeFocuses on robust behavior theories, multiple contexts of health behaviors, and the role of technology in health behavior changeApplicable to a wide variety of courses including public health, behavior change, preventive medicine, and health psychologyOrganized to facilitate curriculum development and includes tools to assist course instructors, including learning objectives for each chapter
Call Number: RA776.9 .H363 2018ISBN: 9780826180131Publication Date: 2018-04-28
Theoretical Foundations of Health Education and Health Promotion by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a complete eBook, Study Center, homework and Assessment Center, and a dashboard that reports actionable data.Revised and updated with the latest data from the field, the Third Edition of Theoretical Foundations of Health Education and Health Promotion introduces students to common theories from behavioral and social sciences that are currently being used in health education and promotion. Each discussion of theory is accompanied by a practical skill-building activity in the context of planning and evaluation and a set of application questions are included that will assist the student in mastering the application of the theory.The Third Edition is written to address the core competencies for health education specialists outlined by the National Commission for Health Education Credentialing (NCHEC) and provides a useful review for those preparing for the certification examination at both the CHES and MCHES levels.Important Updates to the Third Edition: Inclusion of a new multi-theory model (MTM) for health behavior change Incorporates several newer theories such as emotional intelligence, information motivations skills (IMB), and integrative model Includes an updated list of interventions for each theory Provides updated references, websites, and ancillaries
Call Number: RA427.8 .S495 2017ISBN: 9781284104943Publication Date: 2016-03-10
Using Mplus for Structural Equation Modeling by
Ideal for researchers and graduate students in the social sciences who require knowledge of structural equation modeling techniques to answer substantive research questions, Using Mplus for Structural Equation Modeling provides a reader-friendly introduction to the major types of structural equation models implemented in the Mplus framework. This practical book, which updates author E. Kevin Kelloway's 1998 book Using LISREL for Structural Equation Modeling, retains the successful five-step process employed in the earlier book, with a thorough update for use in the Mplus environment. Kelloway provides an overview of structural equation modeling techniques in Mplus, including the estimation of confirmatory factor analysis and observed variable path analysis. He also covers multilevel modeling for hypothesis testing in real life settings and offers an introduction to the extended capabilities of Mplus, such as exploratory structural equation modeling and estimation and testing of mediated relationships. A sample application with the source code, printout, and results is presented for each type of analysis.
ISBN: 9781452291475Publication Date: 2014-08-08
Principles and Practice of Structural Equation Modeling by
Significantly revised, the fifth edition of the most complete, accessible text now covers all three approaches to structural equation modeling (SEM)--covariance-based SEM, nonparametric SEM (Pearl's structural causal model), and composite SEM (partial least squares path modeling). With increased emphasis on freely available software tools such as the R lavaan package, the text uses data examples from multiple disciplines to provide a comprehensive understanding of all phases of SEM--what to know, best practices, and pitfalls to avoid. It includes exercises with answers, rules to remember, topic boxes, and new self-tests on significance testing, regression, and psychometrics. The companion website supplies helpful primers on these topics as well as data, syntax, and output for the book's examples, in files that can be opened with any basic text editor. New to This Edition *Chapters on composite SEM, also called partial least squares path modeling or variance-based SEM; conducting SEM analyses in small samples; and recent developments in mediation analysis. *Coverage of new reporting standards for SEM analyses; piecewise SEM, also called confirmatory path analysis; comparing alternative models fitted to the same data; and issues in multiple-group SEM. *Extended tutorials on techniques for dealing with missing data in SEM and instrumental variable methods to deal with confounding of target causal effects. Pedagogical Features *New self-tests of knowledge about background topics (significance testing, regression, and psychometrics) with scoring key and online primers. *End-of-chapter suggestions for further reading and exercises with answers. *Troublesome examples from real data, with guidance for handling typical problems in analyses. *Topic boxes on special issues and boxed rules to remember. *Website promoting a learn-by-doing approach, including data, extensively annotated syntax, and output files for all the book's detailed examples.
ISBN: 9781462552023Publication Date: 2023-04-12
Structural Equation Modeling by
Presents a useful guide for applications of SEM whilst systematically demonstrating various SEM models using Mplus Focusing on the conceptual and practical aspects of Structural Equation Modeling (SEM), this book demonstrates basic concepts and examples of various SEM models, along with updates on many advanced methods, including confirmatory factor analysis (CFA) with categorical items, bifactor model, Bayesian CFA model, item response theory (IRT) model, graded response model (GRM), multiple imputation (MI) of missing values, plausible values of latent variables, moderated mediation model, Bayesian SEM, latent growth modeling (LGM) with individually varying times of observations, dynamic structural equation modeling (DSEM), residual dynamic structural equation modeling (RDSEM), testing measurement invariance of instrument with categorical variables, longitudinal latent class analysis (LLCA), latent transition analysis (LTA), growth mixture modeling (GMM) with covariates and distal outcome, manual implementation of the BCH method and the three-step method for mixture modeling, Monte Carlo simulation power analysis for various SEM models, and estimate sample size for latent class analysis (LCA) model. The statistical modeling program Mplus Version 8.2 is featured with all models updated. It provides researchers with a flexible tool that allows them to analyze data with an easy-to-use interface and graphical displays of data and analysis results. Intended as both a teaching resource and a reference guide, and written in non-mathematical terms, Structural Equation Modeling: Applications Using Mplus, 2nd edition provides step-by-step instructions of model specification, estimation, evaluation, and modification. Chapters cover: Confirmatory Factor Analysis (CFA); Structural Equation Models (SEM); SEM for Longitudinal Data; Multi-Group Models; Mixture Models; and Power Analysis and Sample Size Estimate for SEM. Presents a useful reference guide for applications of SEM while systematically demonstrating various advanced SEM models Discusses and demonstrates various SEM models using both cross-sectional and longitudinal data with both continuous and categorical outcomes Provides step-by-step instructions of model specification and estimation, as well as detailed interpretation of Mplus results using real data sets Introduces different methods for sample size estimate and statistical power analysis for SEM Structural Equation Modeling is an excellent book for researchers and graduate students of SEM who want to understand the theory and learn how to build their own SEM models using Mplus.
ISBN: 9781119422723Publication Date: 2019-09-17
