Textbooks
Atlas of Emergency Medicine 5th Edition by
The most trusted visual guide to emergency medicine--with 2,100+ full-color images and clinical management guidance from leading experts Doody's Core Titles for 2023! The Atlas of Emergency Medicine is your "look quick, act fast" guide to accurately diagnosing acute medical problems in emergency practice settings. Packed with the highest-quality images available and fully updated clinical information, this is the definitive resource to assessing, diagnosing, and treating patients quickly, safely, and effectively. Top experts in their field, the authors cover basic and subtle diagnosis of a broad spectrum of typical and atypical conditions. Organized by organ-system/special populations/general issues and then by problem, The Atlas of Emergency Medicine includes one or more images per topic, succinct "need-to-know" information for each clinical problem, and management options and clinical pearls--making this the most efficient visual learning guide you'll find. This updated edition includes streamlined text to allow for more images, new chapters on Rheumatologic and Mental Health Conditions, and new video clips highlighting the most important topics.
ISBN: 9781260134940Publication Date: 2020-10-30
Emergency Medicine PreTest Self-Assessment and Review, Fourth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. PreTest® is the closest you can get to seeing the test before you take it. Written by clerkship faculty and reviewed by students who know what it takes to pass, this book is perfect for clerkship exam review and the USMLE Step 2CK. Emergency Medicine: PreTest® asks the right questions so you'll know the right answers. Open it and start learning what's on the test. 500 USMLE-style Q&A cover core topics on the clerkship exam Complete explanations explain each answer option Answer discussions condense essential topics for high-yield review Tested and reviewed by students who know what it takes to pass
ISBN: 9781259587078Publication Date: 2016-02-29
Harwood-Nuss' Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Clinically focused and evidence-based,Harwood-Nuss' Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine, Seventh Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-use reference for practitioners and residents in today's Emergency Department (ED). Templated chapters rapidly guide you to up to date information on clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, evaluation, management, and disposition, including highlighted critical interventions and common pitfalls. This concise text covers the full range of conditions you're likely to see in the ED, with unmatched readability for quick study and reference. Emphasizes management and disposition, helping you make effective management decisions for patients with or without a confirmed diagnosis. Contains a unique high-risk chief complaint section, covering frequently seen, critical presentations in the ED, including chest pain, abdominal pain, shortness of breath, and altered mental status. Provides carefully selected tables, diagrams, and illustrations to enhance and augment concise, focused chapters. Features key testing sections throughout as well as pertinent clinical guideline boxes providing practical advice and guidance to increase your knowledge and improve your clinical care. Includes access to additional online-only content (including chapters, figures, and tables) and access to over 1,500 self-assessment questions and answers. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RC86.7 .C534 2021ISBN: 9781975111595Publication Date: 2020-10-10
Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care by
Comprehensive, detailed, and up to date, Roberts and & Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care, 7th Edition, provides highly visual coverage of both common and uncommon procedures encountered in emergency medicine and acute care practice. It clearly describes the ins and outs of every procedure you're likely to consider, such as how, why, when to, and when not to perform them, and recommends other emergency or acute care procedures that may be an option. Thoroughly revised and updated throughout, the 7th Edition remains the most well-known and trusted procedures manual in its field. Provides clear, detailed information for practitioners at all levels of experience, - from trainees who are unfamiliar with a specific procedure to those with experience in the technique. Covers the latest equipment, devices, drug therapies, and techniques you need to know for the effective practice of emergency medicine and acute care. Features new and updated information on ultrasound throughout the text, including Ultrasound Boxes that are expertly written and richly illustrated with photographs and clinical correlative images. Includes more Procedure Boxes that allow you to see entire procedures at a glance, functioning as a mini-atlas that allows you to quickly grasp how to perform a procedure. Contains more than 100 new figures-of more than 3,500 images total-including new color photographs, new Ultrasound Boxes, and new algorithms. Features a new chapter on Procedures in the Setting of Anticoagulation. Covers hot topics such as novel loop abscess drainage technique, ENT techniques, and ophthalmology techniques, as well as procedures performed by acute care practitioners such as sedation of the agitated patient, alternate methods of drug delivery, and common errors and complications in the acute care setting. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also have access to nearly 250 procedural videos.
ISBN: 0323354785Publication Date: 2018-02-07
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition by
The long-awaited new edition of the world's most widely used and highly regarded textbook and reference of emergency medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2022! Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is THE essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine. The Ninth Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine in today's fast-paced environments. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. It is a necessary resource for in-training and board examinations, and recertification. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates. Highlights of the Ninth Edition: Full-color design with more tables than ever to succinctly present key information Extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest clinical and evidence-based information Online access to over 100 videos, covering a wide range of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and POCUS for obstetric/gynecologic, pediatric, musculoskeletal, and vascular conditions World-class pediatric section on the care of neonates, infants, and children Expanded chapters on the management of gynecologic and obstetric conditions and emergencies Updated information on toxicologic and environmental emergencies Contemporary, concise discussion of ED identification and treatment of opioid use disorders Updated information on procedural sedation Expert advice on the management and care of transgender patients Latest information available on neurologic and cardiac emergencies From the reviews of the seventh edition: "Collectively, they have once again produced an excellent text that manages to cover the broad scope of emergency medicine while remaining an easily readable and practical resource....Last, for the inevitable comparison of this current edition of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine with other available emergency medicine textbooks available: in my opinion, Tintinalli's still comes out on top. It is more concise and easier to read than some, yet it covers the breadth of emergency medicine practice more comprehensively than others....Just as previous editions did, the seventh presents all of the most pertinent and up-to-date information in a well-organized format that is comprehensive yet easy to read. That and many of the attractive new features in this current edition will ensure its place on my bookshelf for years to come."―JAMA
ISBN: 9781260019933Publication Date: 2019-10-18
Case Files Emergency Medicine, Fourth Edition by
Sixty high-yield Emergency Medicine cases helps students sharpen their diagnostic and problem-solving skills The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve shelf-exam scores and clerkship performance. Unlike other books on the market, this series helps students learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. Case Files Emergency Medicine teaches students how to improve their diagnostic and problem-solving skills as they work through sixty high-yield clinical cases. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, and USMLE-style review questions with answers. · NEW Case Correlations feature which highlights differential diagnosis and related cases in the book; 25 "challenge questions" that span the content of the entire book · Updated to reflect the most current high-yield clerkship topics and the latest in medical management and treatment
Call Number: RC86.9 .T69 2017ISBN: 9781259640827Publication Date: 2017-08-17
CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Emergency Medicine, Eighth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. An instant-access guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the conditions most likely to present in the emergency department A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Essential for anyone practicing in an emergency department or acute care setting, this new edition of CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Emergency Medicine strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity. It delivers exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes - no more, no less. Every chapter of this edition has been updated to reflect the latest breakthroughs and developments, and the book is filled with high-quality illustrations designed to clarify difficult concepts. FEATURES: * Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, delivering exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes * Emphasizes the immediate management of life-threatening problems, then covers the evaluation and treatment of specific disorders * Priority-based and problem-oriented organization encompasses all aspects of emergency medicine, including common emergencies, trauma, and neonatal and pediatric emergencies * Extensive at-a-glance algorithms facilitate rapid decision making * Comprehensive tables of drugs commonly used in the ED
ISBN: 9780071840613Publication Date: 2017-07-31
Deja Review Emergency Medicine, 2nd Edition (PRINT ONLY) by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. "Flashcards in a book" provide a comprehensive yet concise review for the emergency medicine clerkship Deja Review: Emergency Medicine boils down your coursework to just the critical concepts you need to know for exam success. This unbeatable guide features a quick-read, two-column, "flashcard in a book" Q&A format. - specifically designed to help you remember a large amount of pertinent information in the least amount of time possible. The format allows you to zero-in on only the correct answers to promote memory retention and get the most out of your study time. Great for last minute review of high-yield facts, Deja Review provides a straightforward way for you to assess your strengths and weaknesses so you can excel on the clerkship and the USMLE Step 2 CK. NEW chapter on Orthopedic Emergencies NEW Stimulus Chapter tests clinical understanding with high-yield X-rays and images Active recall questions allow you to understand, not just memorize the content Clinical vignettes at the end of chapters prepare you for board-style questions Portable size for study on the go - fits into your coat pocket Bookmark included to guide you through easy-to-use flashcard presentation
Call Number: RC86.9 .J36 2011ISBN: 9780071715188Publication Date: 2011-06-13
Rapid Interpretation of EKG's by
The reader's rapid assimilation of medical concepts is the key to the continuing success of this best-selling book. A caption explains the concept illustrated on each page, and a few simple sentences reinforce the concept with interactive (programmed) learning, which links to the following page. Dr Dubin's light and entertaining style, known world-wide, makes learning enjoyable. Practice twelve-lead tracings at the end establish self-confidence, and summarised reference sheets with examples (designed to be copied) provide an excellent review. Most recently updated in February 2006.
Call Number: RC683.5 .E5 D8 2000ISBN: 0912912065Publication Date: 2000-10-01
Resident Readiness Emergency Medicine by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. ARE YOU READY? GET RESIDENT READY. Resident Readiness: Emergency Medicine prepares you for success during your emergency medicine internship. Inside is a full range of clinical scenarios you may experience during your emergency medicine residency, supported by comprehension questions with detailed answer explanations and tips to remember. You will also learn the clinical problem-solving process so you can think quickly on your feet, especially when time is critical. With this book's step-by-step guidance, you will gain the confidence you need to perform at your best on Day One of your residency. Beyond treating your patient, Resident Readiness prepares you to: Build a framework for an efficient approach to ED patient care Recognize life-threatening presentations Prepare for critical care challenges Build a solid foundation in EMS and Ultrasound Provide appropriate discharge planning and follow up from the ED
Call Number: RC86.8 . K63 2014ISBN: 9780071780391Publication Date: 2014-04-15
Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine, 2-Volume Set by
Now in its 7th edition, Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine continues to help you quickly and decisively manage medical emergencies encountered in any wilderness or other austere setting! World-renowned authority Dr. Paul Auerbach and 2 new associate editors have assembled a team of experts to offer proven, practical, visual guidance for effectively diagnosing and treating the full range of issues that can occur in situations where time and resources are scarce. Now in an exciting 2-volume set that includes convenient online access, this indispensable resource equips physicians, nurses, advanced practice providers, first responders, and rescuers with the essential knowledge and skills to effectively address and prevent injuries and illnesses - no matter where they happen! Brand-new 2-volume format ensures all content is available in print and online to provide you easy access. Face any medical challenge in the wilderness with expert guidance from hundreds of outstanding world experts edited by Dr. Auerbach and 2 new associate editors, Drs.Tracy Cushing and N. Stuart Harris New and expanded chapters with hundreds of new photos and illustrative drawings help increase your visual understanding of the material Acquire the knowledge and skills you need with revised chapters providing expanded discussions of high-altitude medicine, improvisation, technical rescue, telemedicine, ultrasound, and wilderness medicine education Ten new chapters cover Acute High-Altitude Medicine and Pathophysiology; High Altitude and Pre-Existing Medical Conditions; Cycles, Snowmobiles, and other Wilderness Conveyances; Medical Wilderness Adventure Races (MedWAR); Canyoneering and Canyon Medicine; Evidence-Based Wilderness Medicine; National Park Service Medicine; Genomics and Personalized Wilderness Medicine; Forestry; and Earth Sciences 30+ Expert Consult online videos cover survival tips, procedural demonstrations, and detailed explanations of diseases and incidents Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices Brand-new 2-volume format ensures all content is available in print and online to provide you easy access. Face any medical challenge in the wilderness with expert guidance from hundreds of outstanding world experts edited by Dr. Auerbach and 2 new associate editors, Drs.Tracy Cushing and N. Stuart Harris. New and expanded chapters with hundreds of new photos and illustrative drawings help increase your visual understanding of the material. Acquire the knowledge and skills you need with revised chapters providing expanded discussions of high-altitude medicine, improvisation, technical rescue, telemedicine, ultrasound, and wilderness medicine education. Ten new chapters cover Acute High-Altitude Medicine and Pathophysiology; High Altitude and Pre-Existing Medical Conditions; Cycles, Snowmobiles, and other Wilderness Conveyances; Medical Wilderness Adventure Races (MedWAR); Canyoneering and Canyon Medicine; Evidence-Based Wilderness Medicine; National Park Service Medicine; Genomics and Personalized Wilderness Medicine; Forestry; and Earth Sciences. 30+ Expert Consult online videos cover survival tips, procedural demonstrations, and detailed explanations of diseases and incidents. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323359429Publication Date: 2016-10-19
Emergency Care and the Public's Health by
As US health care systems undergo a period of transformative change, so too will emergency care, and more specifically emergency departments. This transformation will include: The development of new diagnostic, therapeutic, and information technologies A growing need to prepare and respond to emerging public health threats The expansion of the role of allied health professionals to address the workforce crisis Novel expectations for care coordination The fundamental economics of emergency care under new payment models, and The key relationship with American law. Emergency Care and the Public's Health explores the complex role of emergency care in the context of these changes and as an increasingly vital component of health care systems both within and outside the US. From an expert emergency medicine team, this new title is a reference for emergency care and critical care providers, allied health professionals and hospital administrators. It is also for relevant for public policy and healthcare policy professionals.
ISBN: 9781118779781Publication Date: 2014-03-27
Ciottone's Disaster Medicine by
While medical specialists in disaster mitigation, preparedness, and response are needed worldwide, the initial phase of disaster response is almost entirely dependent upon local resources-making it essential that all healthcare personnel have a working knowledge of the field and stand ready to integrate into the response system. Ciottone's Disaster Medicine, 3rd Edition, is the most comprehensive reference available to help accomplish these goals in every community. It thoroughly covers isolated domestic events as well as global disasters and humanitarian crises. Dr. Gregory Ciottone and more than 200 worldwide authorities share their knowledge and expertise on the preparation, assessment, and management of both natural and man-made disasters, including lessons learned by the responders to contemporary disasters such as the COVID-19 pandemic, Australian and western U.S. wildfires, European heatwaves, the Beirut explosion, recent hurricanes and typhoons, and the global refugee crisis. Part 1 offers an A-to-Z resource for every aspect of disaster medicine and management, while Part 2 features an exhaustive compilation of every conceivable disaster event, organized to facilitate quick reference in a real-time setting. Covers basic concepts such as identification of risks, organizational preparedness, equipment planning, disaster education and training, and more advanced concepts such as disaster risk reduction, health in complex emergencies, building local disaster resiliency, psychological impact of disasters on children, and more. Contains new decision trees throughout that help guide you through the decision-making process in difficult situations. Uses an easy-to-follow, templated approach to historical perspectives, overviews of current practice including pre-incident and post-incident actions, medical treatment of casualties, and potential pitfalls. Includes updated sections on man-made disasters, including mass casualties, active shooter situations, integrated response to terrorist attacks, and chemical/biological/radiological/nuclear/high-yield explosives disasters. Discusses the latest technologies, such as the use of mobile disaster applications, drone response systems, and virtual reality simulation training. Features thoroughly updated information on crisis leadership, practical applications of disaster epidemiology, disaster and climate change, and the integration of non-government agencies (NGOs) in disaster response-a critical topic for those responding to humanitarian needs overseas. Includes new chapters on Pandemic Preparedness and Response, Disaster Medicine in a Changing Climate, Disaster Response in Asia, Building Local Capacity and Disaster Resiliency, Civilian-Military Coordination in Disaster Response, Medical Simulation in Disaster Preparedness, Disaster Nursing, Crisis Meta-Leadership, Palliative Care in Disasters, Counter-Terrorism Medicine, SARS CoV (COVID-19 and SARS), and Disasters in Space Travel. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
ISBN: 9780323809320Publication Date: 2023-05-17
