Pharmacological Books
Core Concepts in Pharmacology (PRINT ONLY) by Call Number: RM301.14 .H655 2018 (print only)ISBN: 9780134514161Publication Date: 2017-01-05
Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Seventh Edition (PRINT ONLY) by
When every moment counts, count on Poisoning & Drug Overdose A Doody's Core Title for 2021! "Poisoning & Drug Overdose belongs in every emergency physician's workroom." --Academic Emergency Medicine (reviewing earlier edition) "...a great addition to any emergency department library when rapid reference is needed to treat and diagnose the poisoned patient." -- Annals of Emergency Medicine (reviewing earlier edition) Designed for speed of use during toxicologic emergencies, this instant-answer guide delivers critical information on the effective diagnosis and treatment of drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures. Enhanced by detailed tables and charts, extensive cross-referencing, and a comprehensive index, the Seventh Edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect newly released drugs and the latest information on existing drugs. Poisoning & Drug Overdose is divided into four sections: Section 1 leads you through initial emergency management, including treatment of coma, hypotension, and other common complications; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and methods of decontamination and enhanced eliminations of poisons Section II provides detailed information on hundreds of common drugs and poisons Section III describes the use and side effects of more than 80 antidotes and therapeutic drugs Section IV covers the medical management of chemical spills and occupational chemical exposures, and includes a table of more than 500 industrial chemicals Poisoning & Drug Overdose, Seventh Edition should be within reach of every medical toxicologist, emergency physician, and poison control staff member.
Call Number: RA1215 .P64 2018ISBN: 9780071839792Publication Date: 2017-12-11
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology by
Comprehensive yet easy to use, Rang and Dale's Pharmacology has been providing core basic and clinical science information to students and healthcare practitioners worldwide for more than 25 years. The fully revised 9th Edition keeps you up to date with all that's new in the field, including new and emerging drugs and recent studies. From cover to cover, you'll progressively increase your knowledge of all relevant aspects of pharmacology, from a molecular understanding of receptors and drug actions through clinical uses of key groups of drugs. Keeps you up-to-date with new information in this fast-changing field, including significantly revised coverage of CNS drugs, cognitive enhancers, anti-infectives, biologicals/biopharmaceuticals, lifestyle drugs, and more. Includes access to unique features online, including more than 100 brand new chapter-specific multiple-choice questions and 6 new cases for immediate self-assessment. Features a color-coded layout for faster navigation and cross-referencing. Clarifies complex concepts with Key Points boxes, Clinical Uses boxes and full-color illustrations throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780702074486Publication Date: 2019-01-25
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 15e by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Master key pharmacological concepts and practices with the most comprehensive, authoritative guide available Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs Delivers the knowledge and insight needed to excel in every facet of pharmacology!. Encompasses all aspects of medical pharmacology, including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs Major revisions of the chapters on immunopharmacology, antiseizure, antipsychotic, antidepressant, antidiabetic, anti-inflammatory, and antiviral drugs, prostaglandins, and central nervous system neurotransmitters New chapter on the increasingly relevant topic of cannabis pharmacology Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information Revised full-color illustrations provide more information about drug mechanisms and effects and help clarify important concepts Trade Name/Generic Name tables are provided at end of each chapter for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Includes descriptions of important new drugs released through May 2019 New and updated coverage of general concepts relating to recently discovered receptors, receptor mechanisms, and drug transporters
Call Number: RM301.28 .B38 2021ISBN: 9781260452310Publication Date: 2020-12-05
Clinical Pharmacology by
'The very last thing a drug regulator wishes to be able to say is, like Lord Byron (1788-1824), on the publication of his poem Childe Harold's Pilgrimage, 'I awoke one morning and found myself famous.' The twelfth edition of this long-established textbook of clinical pharmacology (first published in 1960) continues its fine tradition of balancing science and practice for improved evidence-based drug therapy and good prescribing in therapeutic settings increasingly complicated by intercurrent disease and polypharmacy. Coverage of all major therapeutic topics by body system. Introductory sections give brief chapter synopses. Case studies where relevant. Covers the needs of the developing world with a focus on practical prescribing and health technology assessment. Definition, tips, brief explanation boxes throughout. Interesting histories, etymologies and provenances of terms throughout. Entertaining footnotes throughout. Fully updated throughout. New co-editor: Fraz Mir, Addenbrooke's Hospital and Department of Medicine, University of Cambridge. Now with free e-book on StudentConsult.
ISBN: 9780702073281Publication Date: 2018-05-15
Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology by
More detailed than an outlined review but less overwhelming than an encyclopedic reference, Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology, 6th Edition, focuses on the essential principles you need to know in a concise, easy-to-understand manner. Authored by Craig W. Stevens, PhD, this highly illustrated introductory text helps you learn and retain key information in pharmacology-taking you from course exams and the USMLE Step 1 right through to clinical practice. New and extensively revised content keeps you up to date with the latest pharmacologic mechanisms and applications. Teaches the fundamental aspects of pharmacology using full-color illustrations, detailed explanations, and a consistent format to present classification of drugs for each system/disease. Helps you understand both the basic science foundations and clinical applications of pharmacology, with useful tables, drug classifications boxes, case studies, and self-assessments in each chapter to help you review and prepare for course exams and Step 1. Includes the latest drugs and therapeutic indications (more than 100 are new to this edition), along with an entirely new chapter on recent developments of immunopharmacology drugs, including antivirals and vaccinations. Addresses key topics such as antiviral and monoclonal drugs to treat COVID-19, the opioid epidemic, and gene therapy. Features more than 700 new and updated images, with many revised figures focused on clearing presenting the mechanism of action of drugs. Includes access to bonus eBook content such as animations, an additional glossary, chapter-by-chapter summaries and case studies, a full list of featured drugs, 150 USMLE-style self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323758987Publication Date: 2022-06-27
Brody's Human Pharmacology by
Focusing on the essential aspects of pharmacology you need to know, Brody's Human Pharmacology, 6th Edition, keeps you fully up to date with all that's new in the field. Streamlined content, a new organizational approach, enhanced online components, and thoroughly updated information ensure your grasp of key concepts and prepare you for exams. Nearly 500 full-color illustrations explain important processes, while color-coded boxes for major drugs, therapeutic overviews, clinical problems, and trade names reinforce your mastery of the information. The 6th Edition of this easy-to-use text is now fully up to date with: NEW chapter devoted entirely to pharmacogenomics and personalized medicine. NEW chapter on cannabinoids and their use for pain and other disorders, in light of recent legalization in many states. NEW chapters on recent developments in the treatment of Alzheimer's disease, ADHD and the latest treatments for HIV. NEW section on pain management. NEW section in each chapter covering "Clinical Relevance for Healthcare Professionals" that provides important information specific to physical therapists, dentists and dental hygienists, and many other medical professionals. Plus these student-friendly features: A new organizational approach, focusing on integration and systems-based learning. Contributions from leading faculty who cover the most important aspects of pharmacology necessary for a basic understanding of the subject, including concepts, clinical applications, and side effects. USMLE-style self-assessment questions at the end of every chapter, answers and rationales in the Appendix. Online access to Student Consult?where you'll find the complete contents of the book, fully searchable...150 USMLE-style questions...and more.
ISBN: 9780323476522Publication Date: 2018-07-24
Essentials of Pharmacology for Health Professions (PRINT ONLY) by
Best-selling ESSENTIALS OF PHARMACOLOGY FOR HEALTH PROFESSIONS, 8e is the ideal resource to help you prepare for licensed practical nursing, medical assisting, and other allied health careers. Focusing on "need to know" drug information, it gives you the confidence to master pharmacology. Extremely reader friendly, this clear, concise book simplifies material into engaging and manageable chapters. By stressing clinical application, it also ensures you understand the "why" behind what you learn. Part I provides a solid foundation in basic pharmacologic principles. Part II covers drugs, sources, legal concerns, and medical uses. Chapters organize drugs by classifications and include their purpose, side effects, interactions, and precautions or contraindications. Patient education is highlighted for each category, while numerous reference tables help pull everything together for you by listing the most commonly prescribed drugs, dosages, available forms, and special considerations.
Call Number: RM300 .W67 2019ISBN: 9781337395892Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th Edition by
The most universally respected and read text in all of pharmacology - updated with the latest breakthroughs and developments Goodman & Gilman''s The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology.Goodman & Gilman''s careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease. Enriched by a full-color presentation and updated to reflect all critical new developments in drug action and drug-disease interaction, the thirteenth edition includes more than 440 color illustrations depicting key principles and actions of specific pathways and therapeutic agents. · NEW chapters on hypertension therapy, myocardial ischemia therapy, treatment of pulmonary arterial hypertension, immunostimulants and vaccines, and treatment of viral hepatitis, as well as appendices on prescription order writing, patient compliance, and pharmacokinetics · 440+ full-color illustrations · More than a textbook, a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice Goodman & Gilman''s The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13e is divided into nine sections, covering: · General Principles · Neuropharmacology · Modulation of Pulmonary, Renal, and Cardiovascular Function · Inflammation, Immunomodulation, and Hematopoiesis · Endocrine Pharmacology · Gastrointestinal Pharmacology · Chemotherapy of Infectious Disease
ISBN: 9781259584732Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Medical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by
Medical Pharmacology & Therapeutics provides all the information medical and healthcare students need throughout their degree programme and beyond, including for professional qualifications such as the PSA. This all-round textbook covers basic pharmacology through to drug prescribing in clinical contexts, covering the pathogenic mechanisms of disease; drug actions, side effects, and the therapeutic principles of drug use. It takes a helpful systems-based approach that orders information according to body systems and disease areas, rather than by drug class. Now in its sixth edition, the book has been fully updated to include latest scientific understanding of drug action and administration and current best practice in prescribing medications, informed by the latest national guidelines. A clinical focus throughout - suitable for medical, nursing and other healthcare students throughout their training Thorough update of clinically-relevant medicines to ensure best practice Information aligned with the British National Formulary (BNF), NICE guidelines and relevant professional benchmarks Comprehensive drug compendia allow all drugs to be identified and placed within their respective classes Extensive self-assessment questions to support learning and revision New to this edition Expanded discussion of the pathophysiology and management of shock Revised discussion of the management of chronic pain Consideration of treatment of Covid-19 Expanded discussion of the pathophysiology and management of shock Revised discussion of the management of chronic pain Consideration of treatment of Covid-19
ISBN: 9780702081590Publication Date: 2022-01-28
