Textbooks
Essentials of Clinical Immunology (PRINT ONLY) by
Essentials of Clinical Immunology provides the most up-to-date, core information required to understand diseases with an immunological basis. Clinically focussed, the sixth edition of this classic text presents theoretical and practical information in a simple yet thorough way. Essentials of Clinical Immunology covers the underlying pathophysiology, the signs and symptoms of disease, the investigations required and guidance on the management of patients. Perfect for clinical medical students, junior doctors and medical professionals seeking a refresher in the role of immunology in clinical medicine, this comprehensive text features fully updated clinical information, boxes with key points, real-life case histories to illustrate key concepts and an index of contents at the start of each chapter. A companion website at www.immunologyclinic.com provides additional learning tools, including more case studies, interactive multiple-choice questions and answers, all of the photographs and illustrations from the book, links to useful websites, and a selection of review articles from the journal Clinical and Experimental Immunology. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes, Google Play or the MedHand Store.
Call Number: RC582 .C462 2014ISBN: 9781118472958Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Immunology by
Covering all the basic and clinical concepts you need to know for your coursework and USMLEs, Immunology, 9th Edition, offers a well-illustrated, carefully structured approach to this complex and fast-changing field. Carefully edited and authored by experts in both teaching and research, it provides cutting-edge, consistent coverage that links the laboratory and clinical practice. A user-friendly, color-coded format, including key concept boxes, explanatory diagrams, and nearly 200 photos to help you visually grasp and retain challenging concepts. Explains the building blocks of the immune system - cells, organs, and major receptor molecules - as well as initiation and actions of the immune response, especially in a clinical context. Features a reorganized format that presents immunology in the order in which is typically taught and learned, better integrating basic and clinical immunology. Provides Critical Thinking boxes, chapter-opening summaries, and case-based and USMLE-style questions that provide effective review and quick practice for exams - plus more learning opportunities online, including USMLE-style questions and clinical cases. Includes extensive updates to clinical information, including recent clinical approaches in cancer immunology, transplantation, autoimmunity, hypersensitivity, and more. Covers new topics such as innate lymphoid cells, antibody-based therapies and antibody engineering, innate immunity and its components, the genetics of immunologically-based diseases and personalized medicine, and immunotherapeutic agents for the treatment of cancer.
Call Number: QR181 .R64 2021ISBN: 9780702078446Publication Date: 2020-07-01
Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology: a Guide to Clinical Infectious Disease, Eighteenth Edition by
Ace your medical courses and pass the Boards with the most up-to-date review of medical microbiology and immunology! This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. The effective mix of engaging narrative text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes make this an invaluable, proven one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. This updated edition reflects the latest research, treatment, and developments, new cases, and more. * Content is valuable to any study objective or learning style * Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework * 650 USMLE-style practice questions * NEW additional clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis * Concise summaries of medically important organisms * Chapter-ending self-assessment questions and answers * REVISED color images that depict clinically important findings
ISBN: 9781265126001Publication Date: 2024-02-14
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Immunology and Allergy by
This new edition of Clinical Immunology and Allergy is a practical and clinically based guide for clinicians and laboratory staff to aid diagnosis and management of immunological and allergic disease, and provides examples of the correct selection and interpretation of immunological tests for a wide range of conditions. Fully updated from the previous edition, with the addition of new diseases recently identified from the use of genetic testing, and novel biological therapies and autoantibody tests, this title covers the entire breadth of the field, with the information at your fingertips. Split into two sections, the first covering individual diseases and allergies, with diagnosis and management strategies, and the second describing appropriate laboratory tests and their interpretation, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Immunology and Allergy is an invaluable reference text, and works as a succinct revision guide for the FRCPath in Immunology. Filled with cross-references to create a cohesive overview of a complex subject, and presented in concise bullet-points for detailed direction to the key facts, this handbook provides everything you need to help you in clinical practice.
ISBN: 9780198789529Publication Date: 2019-12-30
Basic immunology : functions and disorders of the immune system by Call Number: QR181 .A28 2024ISBN: 0443105197Publication Date: 2024
Fields Virology: Emerging Viruses by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Now in four convenient volumes, Fields Virology remains the most authoritative reference in this fast-changing field, providing definitive coverage of virology, including virus biology as well as replication and medical aspects of specific virus families. This volume of Fields Virology: Emerging Viruses, Seventh Edition covers recent changes in emerging viruses, providing new or extensively revised chapters that reflect these advances in this dynamic field. Bundled with the eBook, which will be updated regularly as new information about each virus is available, including coronavirus and COVID-19, this text serves as the authoritative, up-to-date reference book for virologists, infectious disease specialists, microbiologists, and physicians, as well as medical students pursuing a career in infectious diseases. Covers both basic science and medical features of each virus, emphasizing viruses of medical importance and interest, while also including other viruses in specific cases where more is known about their mechanisms of replication or pathogenesis. Covers virus evolution, as well as Coronoviridae, Picornaviridae, Enteroviruses, Caliciviridae, Hepatitis C Virus, Filoviridae, Henipaviruses, Orthomyxoviruses, Bunyavirales, Arenaviridae, and much more. Features over 500 full-color illustrations, including key figures for use as lecture slides. Provides quick, flexible access to current information both in print and in an improved eBook format, searchable across all volumes. Discusses virus structure, virus entry, replication, and assembly, virus-host cell interactions, host immune responses and vaccines, antiviral therapeutics, virus evolution and immunization. New and forthcoming Fields Virology volumes, available in print and eBook format, which are sold separately: Emerging Viruses DNA Viruses RNA Viruses Fundamental Viruses Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975112547Publication Date: 2020-04-17
The Immune System (PRINT ONLY) by
The Immune System is a concise yet thorough human-oriented introduction to how the human immune system works. It provides an up-to-date presentation of the field, written in an accessible style, replete with relevant medical examples. Plentiful illustrations and micrographs complement and illuminate the explanations. The Fifth Edition is supported by InQuizitive, Norton's award-winning, easy-to-use adaptive learning tool that provides student practice and promotes critical thinking.
Call Number: QR181 .P335 2021ISBN: 9780393533354Publication Date: 2021-02-15
Primer to the Immune Response (PRINT ONLY) by
Written in the same engaging conversational style as the acclaimed first edition, Primer to The Immune Response, 2nd Edition is a fully updated and invaluable resource for college and university students in life sciences, medicine and other health professions who need a concise but comprehensive introduction to immunology. The authors bring clarity and readability to their audience, offering a complete survey of the most fundamental concepts in basic and clinical immunology while conveying the subject's fascinating appeal. The content of this new edition has been completely updated to include current information on all aspects of basic and clinical immunology. The superbly drawn figures are now in full color, complemented by full color plates throughout the book. The text is further enhanced by the inclusion of numerous tables, special topic boxes and brief notes that provide interesting insights. At the end of each chapter, a self-test quiz allows students to monitor their mastery of major concepts, while a set of conceptual questions prompts them to extrapolate further and extend their critical thinking. Moreover, as part of the Academic Cell line of textbooks, Primer to The Immune Response, 2nd Edition contains research passages that shine a spotlight on current experimental work reported in Cell Press articles. These articles also form the basis of case studies that are found in the associated online study guide and are designed to reinforce clinical connections.
Call Number: QR181 .M325 2014ISBN: 9780123852458Publication Date: 2014-02-04
