Research Guides: Physical Therapy: Software & Apps

Anatomy Software

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
300+ videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors. Presents moving structures (muscles, tendons, and joints). Shows complex structures step by step, from bone to surface anatomy, to provide a foundation for understanding anatomical structure and function.
NetAnatomy
Review basic concepts and study gross anatomy, radiographic anatomy, and cross-sectional anatomy

Mobile Apps

Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas
Online anatomy atlas allows users to view specific structures and layers from head to toe, rotate anatomical models, and explore systemic and regional anatomy.
more...less...
Download the app, then connect to GW via GWireless (on-campus) or Cisco AnyConnect (off-campus). The app will check that your device is at an institution with a valid subscription. To maintain off-campus access, open your Visible Body app on-campus or off-campus while connected via Cisco AnyConnect at least every 150 days.
Physiopedia App
"This Physiopedia app provides a simple interface that allows easy discovery and viewing of all Physiopedia articles."
Find more apps on the Mobile App Shelf

Bloedorn Technology Center

Located on the 3rd floor of Himmelfarb Library, BTC provides access to computer software, both general and health-related, along with a collection of DVDs, Audio CDs and various anatomical models and kits.

Bloedorn Technology Center

GWU Software

Students, faculty, and staff may download software via the IT department website. Find software for your communication, security, and research needs. For questions about these programs, please contact IT directly.

ZoteroBib

ZoteroBib

Use ZoteroBib for short writing pieces or to quickly share lists of references. Use a reference management tool, such as Zotero, RefWorks, or EndNote for more extensive projects, literature reviews, and collaborative management.

Create bibliographies quickly by entering URLs, DOIs, ISBNs, PMIDs, arXiv IDs, or titles.
Over 9,700 different styles available, including APA, AMA, MLA, and publisher-specific styles.
Copy bibliography to your clipboard, download a file, save to Zotero, or share a link to your bibliography online.
No software downloads or log-ins required - the bibliography is saved to your browser's local storage.

Himmelfarb Software & Services

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Content and new clinical skills videos covering head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.
DXR Cases
Over 100 cases available. Each includes history, physical exam, and labs.
more...less...
Faculty interested in securing student access to specific cases should contact their liaison librarian and/or the library's DxR administrator.
App Shelf
Himmelfarb provides access to many information and productivity apps - click on the individual app for instructions on downloading.

BodyViz
by Catherine Sluder Last Updated Nov 14, 2023 111 views this year
3D Printing at Himmelfarb
by Brian McDonald Last Updated Aug 23, 2023 116 views this year

RefWorks

RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool. It is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

RefWorks
Web-based citation management tool can be used to create and manage citation libraries and to create in-text citations and bibliographies. Available via updated Proquest RefWorks interface or via RefWorks Classic interface. Access: sign up for an individual login and password. Proquest RefWorks Tutorials

Alternatives to RefWorks

RefWorks is the reference manager recommended and supported by the Himmelfarb Library. The following are alternatives to RefWorks:

BibMe
Create bibliographies in MLA, APA, Chicago, or Turabian styles only. Create a bib. using auto-fill or manual options. Register and login to save your bibliographies.
CiteULike
Registration required. Supports multiple citation styles.
EasyBib
MLA, APA, and Chicago styles only. Type and go! Login optional.
EndNote Web
Free to GW students, staff and faculty.
KnightCite Citation Creator
Online citation generator service provided by the Hekman Library of Calvin College. Create citation in APA, MLA and Chicago style.
Mendeley
Free reference manager and academic social network helps you organize your research & collaborate with others online
Microsoft Word
Microsoft Word 2019 has a reference management tool built into the Reference toolbar, but you will only save your reference locally onto the document.
Zotero
Download from Zotero website.
Supports hundreds of different citation styles.

------------------------------------------------------

GW users can get unlimited personal and group cloud storage in Zotero. To access the GW subscription please fill out this form.