Skip to main content

Health Policy: State/Local Data

Research Guide for the Department of Health Policy & Management

State/Local Data

The Health Indicators Warehouse at HealthIndicators.gov is being discontinued after April 15, 2017. After this date the data and indicators can be located through Health, United States 2015 (http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus/index.htm), Healthy People (https://www.healthypeople.gov/), and County Health Status Indicators 2015 (http://wwwn.cdc.gov/CommunityHealth)

U.S. Agency for Health Research and Quality: State data on health care utilization, access, charges, quality, and outcomes in Inpatient, Ambulatory Care, & Emergency Department settings are maintained by AHRQ. To look up a quick fact check the HCUPnet website here http://hcupnet.ahrq.gov/. The full statistical data tables can be downloaded from the HCUP website here http://hcup-us.ahrq.gov/databases.jsp

American FactFinder. General access tool for a variety of Census data, including numerous national, state and local tables: http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml

U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention: Community Health Status Indicators. County-level demographic and health indicators for every county in the U.S. : http://wwwn.cdc.gov/CommunityHealth/homepage.aspx?j=1

State Health Compare: http://statehealthcompare.shadac.org/Data compare insurance coverage, access, cost, utilization, quality, and outcomes—as well as equity and economic measures.

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps: produced by the Robert Woods Johnson Foundation & University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute http://www.countyhealthrankings.org/

Thirty cities nationwide are engaged in the National Neighborhood Indicators Partnership (NNIP), a peer network of open data intermediaries. The NNIP shares lessons from local partners to help strengthen capacity for data-driven decision-making.

What Works Cities is a national initiative designed to accelerate cities’ use of data and evidence to improve results for their residents.

DASH’s Environmental Scan provides a nationwide snapshot of the current state of multi-sector data sharing initiatives for community health.

All In: Data for Community Health learning collaborative addresses social determinants of health through multi-sector data sharing collaborations: Data Across Sectors for Health (DASH), Community Health Peer Learning Program (CHP), The Colorado Health Foundation (TCHF), Connecting Communities and Care, and BUILD Health Challenge.

The National Equity Atlas provides data on demographic change, racial inclusion, and the economic benefits of equity for the 100 largest cities, 150 largest regions, all 50 states, and the United States.

CDC & Robert Woods Johnson Foundation's 500 Cities Project records chronic disease risk factors, health outcomes, and clinical preventive service use for the largest 500 cities in the United States.

Kaiser State Health Facts. Tables about state-specific health statistics: http://kff.org/statedata/

Kaiser Online Medicaid Benefits Database. Data on which states offer optional Medicaid benefits: http://www.kff.org/medicaid/benefits/

National Association of County & City Health Officials (NACCHO) Model Practice Database. This database contains reports and case studies of local public health initiatives and measures. A resource for policy, planning, education, & grant writing.

National Conference of State Legislatures – Health Tracking Documents. Maintain a number of compilations of state laws and policies regarding health issues.: For example, http://www.ncsl.org/issues-research/health/2011-health-insurance-reform-state-laws.aspx concerns state laws related to implementation of the Affordable Care Act.

PolicyMap. Online mapping tool that overlays statistical data from a vairety of sources in communities across the US, with links to the data tables from which the information was drawn. https://himmelfarb.gwu.edu/eresources/edatabase.cfm/go/PolicyMap

Neighborhood Atlas - showing the Area Deprivation Index rating by zip code, can be used to identify income disparities https://www.neighborhoodatlas.medicine.wisc.edu/

Github and Community Commons are open source data repositories that contains many technical tools for sharing data that can be adapted by others.

State Legislation is tracked by the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. http://www.astho.org/Public-Policy/State-Health-Policy/

State Websites. Any state’s website can be found using:  www.state.2letterabbreviation.us, e.g., www.state.va.us. May redirect you to another web portal.

The Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library
Questions? Ask us.
Creative Commons License
All LibGuides by Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library are licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

The George Washington University