Textbooks
An Introduction to Global Health Delivery (PRINT ONLY) by
"What Mukherjee attempts, and succeeds in doing, is to offer what many students -- undergraduates as well as students of medicine, nursing, and public health -- have long clamored for: a primer not only of recent developments in global health, but also a patient dissection of what has worked less well (and what hasn't worked at all)." --Paul Farmer, from the foreword The field of global health has roots in the AIDS pandemic of the late 20th century, when the installation of health care systems supplanted older, low-cost prevention programs to help stem the spread of HIV in low- and middle-income Africa. Today's global health is rooted the belief that health care is a human right, and that by promoting health we can cultivate equity and social justice in places where such values aren't always found. An Introduction to Global Health Delivery is a short but immersive introduction to global health's origins, actors, interventions, and challenges. Informed by physician Joia Mukherjee's quarter-century of experience fighting disease and poverty in more than a dozen countries, it delivers a clear-eyed overview of the movement underway to reduce global health disparities and establish sustainable access to care, including details of what has worked so far -- and what hasn't. Grounded in the historical and social factors that propagate health disparities and enriched with case studies and exercises that encourage readers to think critically about the subject matter, this text is the essential starting point for readers of any background seeking a practical grounding in global health's promise and progress.
Call Number: RA441 .M85 2018ISBN: 9780190662455Publication Date: 2017-12-07
Global Health 101 by
Global Health 101, Fourth Edition is a clear, concise, and user-friendly introduction to the most critical issues in global health. Drawing from his 40 years of experience working in international development and global health as well as teaching, the author illustrates key themes through an extensive set of case studies, examples, and the latest evidence. The fourth edition offers a significant amount of new and updated information, while maintaining the clarity, simplicity, and ease of use that has made this text so popular. Global Health 101, Fourth Edition builds in unique ways on evidence from fundamental sources, including the Global Burden of Disease Studies, Disease Control Priorities, Third Edition, (DCP3), and Millions Saved. This edition includes an enhanced emphasis on Universal Health Coverage, ethical priority setting, health disparities, and the quality of care. In addition, this thorough update now presents substantial data by World Bank region and World Bank country income group.Other noteworthy updates to the Fourth Edition include:* UPDATED COVERAGE of the global burden of disease and risk factors and of recommended interventions, at different parts of the health system, to address key health burdens. * ENHANCED COVERAGE of the determinants of health; the health of women; the health of children, adolescents and young adults; immunization; undernutrition and obesity; and, the growing prevalence of noncommunicable diseases.* A FULLY INTEGRATED CHAPTER on intersectoral approaches to improving health.* EXPANDED DISCUSSION of KEY THREATS such as climate change, antimicrobial resistance, and emerging and reemerging infectious diseases.* MORE THAN 70 CASE STUDIES - 15 of which are brand new to this edition - help illustrate critical issues.* NEW ILLUSTRATIVE PHOTOS, most from an award-winning photographer, bring global health concepts and themes to life.* TWO CHAPTERS ON CAREERS, included on the Navigate 2 platform, help guide readers on career opportunities in Global Health and offer 24 profiles of key global health actors.* THE NAVIGATE 2 ONLINE LEARNING PLATFORM, including the comprehensive and interactive e-Book, student practice activities and assessments, learning analytics reporting tools, bonus chapters on careers, additional case studies, and more. * ADDITIONAL LEARNING RESOURCES FOR FACULTY AND STUDENTS, including model syllabi, lists of key global health resources, global health videos, global health websites, and global health massive open online courses, and additional cases for classroom discussion.
ISBN: 9781284145380Publication Date: 2019-10-24
Global Health Disputes and Disparities by
Global Health Disputes and Disparities explores inequalities in health around the world, looking particularly at the opportunity for, and limitations of, international law to promote population health by examining its intersection with human rights, trade, and epidemiology, and the controversial issues of legal process, religion, access to care, and the social context of illness. Using a theoretical framework rooted in international law, this volume draws on a wide range of rich empirical data to assess the challenges facing the field, including international legal treaty interpretation, and specific issues related to the application of law in resolving pressing issues in gender, access to care, and social determinants of health. In doing so, it illustrates the challenges for implementing rights-based approaches to address health disparities, with profound implications for future regulations and policymaking. It includes both interviews with leading scholars, as well as a variety of case studies from prominent international forums, including formal claims brought before the Human Rights Council and the Committee on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women, as well as regional and national experiences, drawn from disputes in India, Indonesia, South Africa and the USA. This volume is an innovative contribution to the burgeoning fields of global health and human rights, and will be of interest to students and researchers in public health, global health, law and sociology interested in the social determinants of health and social justice from both theoretical and practical perspectives.
ISBN: 0415673801Publication Date: 2012-11-13
Introduction to Global Health by
Introduction to Global Health is a comprehensive look at today's most critical global health concerns and the actions that people around the world are taking to solve public health problems and to promote health and wellbeing. The 3rd edition of Introduction to Global Health has been significantly expanded to present the full spectrum of topics that are now included as part of the global health agenda, including global health dynamics, the links between the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and global health priorities, the socioeconomic and environmental determinants of health, the connections between health and human rights, and the funding and implementation of global public health initiatives. Global health is a dynamic multidisciplinary field that uses a diversity of interventions to promote sustainable economic growth, support human rights, mitigate threats to security, and help people around the world live longer, healthier lives. Introduction to Global Health emphasizes strategies for the prevention and control of infectious diseases, reproductive health concerns, nutritional disorders, noncommunicable diseases, mental health disorders, and injuries, featuring strategies for health promotion across the lifespan.New to the Third Edition:* The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are used as a framework for exploring the socioeconomic and environmental determinants of health* Information about global health strategies, financing, and implementation is integrated into every chapter* New chapters on reproductive health, cancer, cardiovascular disease, other noncommunicable diseases, mental health, and injuries and revised chapters on infectious diseases and nutrition ensure full coverage of the conditions contributing to the global burden of disease* A new glossary provides definitions for more than 750 key terms in global health
Call Number: RA441 .J33 2019ISBN: 9781284123890Publication Date: 2018-04-13
Understanding Global Health, 2E by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A complete introductory review of global health--updated to reflect the latest issues and challenges The first edition of Understanding Global Health set a new information standard for this rapidly emerging subject. Written by a remarkable group of authors and contributors, this comprehensive, engagingly written text offers unmatched coverage of every important topic--from infectious disease to economics to war. Created with thenon-specialist in mind, Understanding Global Health explores the current burden of disease in the world, howhealth is determined, and the problems faced by populations and health care workers around the world. The second edition has been thoroughly updated to include the most current information and timely topics. New chapters cover such topics as human trafficking, malaria and neglected tropical diseases, surgical issues in global health, and mental health. Every chapter includes Learning Objectives, Summary, Study Questions, and References and, in many instances, practical case examples. Thorough coverage of every important subject, including: Epidemiology, Biostatistics, and Surveillance Nutrition Primary Care in Global Health Tuberculosis and HIV/AIDS Education and Careers in Global Health Aging Populations and Chronic Illness Global Health Ethics
Call Number: RA441 .U415 2014ISBN: 9780071791007Publication Date: 2013-11-05
Global Health by
The health of human populations around the world is constantly changing and the health profiles of most nations in the early twenty-first century global health landscape are unrecognizable compared with those of just a century ago. This book examines and explains these health changes and considers likely future patterns and changes. While the overall picture charted is one of progress and improvement, certain unfortunate regressions and stubbornly persistent health inequalities are equally shown to be part of the evolving patterns of global health. The chapters of the book are organized in three major parts: The first part introduces readers to the principal concepts of global health, and to the idea of populations having distinctive health profiles. In particular, it explores how those profiles can be measured, and how they change, using the umbrella concepts and theories of epidemiological and health transition. Building on the first section, the second part focuses on the evolution of health states, as well as paying particular attention to the reasons for the many subnational inequalities in global health. It also examines health challenges such as the continuing infectious disease burden and current emerging ¿epidemics¿. The final part transports readers from the current health scene to future possible and probable health scenarios, acknowledging the challenges presented by global environmental change, as well as issues centred around geopolitics and human security. Using clear and original explanations of complex issues, this text makes extensive use of boxed case studies and international examples, with thought-provoking discussion questions posed for readers at the end of each chapter. Global Health is essential reading for students of global health, public health and development studies.
ISBN: 0415557569Publication Date: 2012-08-04
Global Burden of Disease and Risk Factors by
Over the past ten years, methodological development to measure disease burden, new data sets for large populations (eg. Tanzania, South Africa) and research to critically evaluate existing data sets (eg. China) have greatly increased the potential to measure disease burden more reliable in all regions of the world. Yet, to date, this research does not exist in one consolidated form. There is neither a comprehensive presentation of new methods, data sets and their evaluation, nor is there a single compilation of the enormous amount of epidemiological detail by age, sex, cause, sequelae and region of the deaths and DALYs for the year 2000. This publication of the results of the Global Burden of Disease 2001 Study, and the CRA Study, by detailed age, sex, cause, region and risk factor will provide a unique description, in one volume, of the entire global epidemiology of diseases, injuries, and risk factors at the turn of the 21st century. This will be an invaluable resource for global and regional health policy for decades to come.
Call Number: RA441 .G5613 2006ISBN: 0821362623Publication Date: 2006-03-30
Textbook of Global Health by
THE CRITICAL WORK IN GLOBAL HEALTH, NOW COMPLETELY REVISED AND IN PAPERBACK "This book compels us to better understand the contexts in which health problems emerge and the forces that underlie and propel them." -Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Mpilo Tutu H1N1. Diabetes. Ebola. Zika. Each of these health problems is rooted in a confluence of social, political, economic, and biomedical factors that together inform our understanding of global health. The imperative for those who study global health is to understand these factors individually and, especially, synergistically. Fully revised and updated, this fourth edition of Oxford's Textbook of Global Health offers a critical examination of the array of societal factors that shape health within and across countries, including how health inequities create consequences that must be addressed by public health, international aid, and social and economic policymaking. The text equips students, activists, and health professionals with the building blocks for a contextualized understanding of global health, including essential threads that are combined in no other work: · historical dynamics of the field · the political economy of health and development · analysis of the current global health structure, including its actors, agencies, and activities · societal determinants of health, from global trade and investment treaties to social policies to living and working conditions · the role of health data and measuring health inequities · major causes of global illness and death, including under crises, from a political economy of health vantage point that goes beyond communicable vs. non-communicable diseases to incorporate contexts of social and economic deprivation, work, and globalization · the role of trade/investment and financial liberalization, precarious work, and environmental degradation and contamination · principles of health systems and the politics of health financing · community, national, and transnational social justice approaches to building healthy societies and practicing global health ethically and equitably Through this approach the Textbook of Global Health encourages the reader -- be it student, professional, or advocate -- to embrace a wider view of the global health paradigm, one that draws from political economy considerations at community, national, and transnational levels. It is essential and current reading for anyone working in or around global health.
ISBN: 9780190916527Publication Date: 2018-07-01
Toward Equity in Health (PRINT ONLY) by
This essential collection presents a state-of-the-art framework for how workers in public health and related disciplines should conceptualize health disparities and how they should be addressed worldwide. The contributors, who are leading public health professionals, educators, and practitioners in complimentary fields advance new evidence-based models designed to mobilize and educate the next generation of research and practice. The resulting chapters articulate new theory, procedures, and policies; the legacy of racism; community-based participatory research; new internet technology; training community workers and educators; closing the education and health gap; and addressing the needs of special populations. Toward Equity in Health is an essential book for all who are working toward global health equity-whether in health education, health promotion, disease prevention, public health, the health care delivery system, or patient- and population level health.
Call Number: RA418 .H3894 2008ISBN: 0826103138Publication Date: 2007-11-01
