Textbooks
Bright Futures by
This essential resource provides key background information and recommendations for themes critical to healthy child development along with well-child supervision standards for 31 age-based visits--from Newborn through 21 Years. What''s in the Bright Futures Guidelines, Fourth Edition? Twelve health promotion themes addressing · lifelong health for families and communities NEW · family support · health for children and youth with special health care needs NEW · healthy development · mental health · healthy weight · healthy nutrition · physical activity · oral health · healthy adolescent development · healthy and safe use of social media NEW · safety and injury prevention 31 age-based health supervision visits--Newborn to 21 Years All the information and guidance that''s needed to give children optimal health outcomes -Context -Health Supervision -History -Surveillance of Development -Review of Systems -Observation of Parent-Child Interaction -Physical Examination -Medical Screening -Immunizations -Anticipatory Guidance What''s NEW in the 4th Edition? ·Builds upon previous editions with new and updated content that reflects the latest research. ·Incorporates evidence-driven recommendations. ·Includes three new health promotion themes: -Promoting Lifelong Health for Families and Communities -Promoting Health for Children and Youth With Special Health Care Needs -Promoting the Healthy and Safe Use of Social Media ·Includes new screen time recommendations ·Provides greater focus on lifelong physical and mental health -Weaves social determinants of health throughout the Visits, allowing health care professionals to consider social factors like food insecurity, violence, and drug use that may affect a child''s and family''s health -Features updated Milestones of Development and Developmental Surveillance questions ·Provides new clinical content that informs health care professionals about the latest recommendations and provides guidance on how to implement them in practice: -Maternal depression screening, Safe sleep, Iron supplementation in breast fed infants, Fluoride varnish, Dyslipidemia blood screening ·Includes updates to several Adolescent screenings With Bright Futures, health care professionals can accomplish 4 tasks in 18 minutes! ·Disease detection ·Disease prevention ·Health promotion ·Anticipatory guidance What is Bright Futures? ·A set of theory-based, evidence-driven, and systems-oriented principles, strategies, and tools that health care professionals can use to improve the health and well-being of children through culturally appropriate interventions. Bright Futures addresses the current and emerging health promotion needs of families, clinical practices, communities, health systems, and policymakers. ·The Bright Futures Guidelines are the blueprint for health supervision visits for all children. ·Bright Futures is the health promotion and disease prevention part of the patient-centered medical home. Who can use Bright Futures? ·Child health professionals and practice staff who directly provide primary care ·Parents and youth who participate in well-child visits ·Public Health Professionals ·Policymakers ·Pediatric Educators ·MD Residents
Call Number: RJ102 .B75 2017ISBN: 1610020227Publication Date: 2017-02-15
Davis Advantage for Medical-Surgical Nursing (PRINT ONLY) by
Davis Advantage for Medical-Surgical Nursing combines an easy-to-read textbook with an interactive online program to create an immersive learning experience that engages students and helps them make the connections to key Med-Surg topics. An access code inside new, printed textbooks unlocks an eBook, as well as access to Davis Advantage. Or choose the all-digital Instant Access option, which includes the eBook and immediate access to Davis Advantage. THE TEXTBOOK The 2nd edition continues its groundbreaking approach to help students make the connections between concepts and patient care to ensure they understand the important relationships between the pathophysiology, clinical presentation, and management of the most common disorders they will encounter in practice. A concise and consistent organization focuses on the 'need-to-know', while clear and well-defined nursing care promotes critical thinking and clinical judgment through a unique emphasis on the patient-centered role of the nurse. The perfect Clinical Companion for Medical-Surgical Nursing: Making Connections to Practice Diseases and Disorders : A Nursing Therapeutics Manual, 6th Edition. ONLINE (DAVIS ADVANTAGE) Using a unique and proven approach across a Learn-Apply-Assess continuum, Davis Advantage engages students and helps them make the connections to key topics. Whether teaching in-person or online, this complete, integrated solution aligns seamlessly with the textbook and equips instructors with actionable analytics to track students' progress, remediate where needed, and facilitate an active learning environment. LEARN - Personalized Learning The foundation of the Davis Advantage platform, Personalized Learning, immerses students in an online learning experience tailored to their needs. Students are assessed on their comprehension of key topics from the text, and then are guided through animated mini-lecture videos and dynamic activities to reinforce learning and bring concepts to life. APPLY - Clinical Judgment Clinical Judgment is now included in the Davis Advantage platform to elevate students' critical thinking and clinical reasoning, helping them to build the clinical judgment skills they need to practice safe and effective nursing care and to prepare for the Next Generation NCLEX® with confidence. Progressive case studies featuring real-life, complex clinical situations challenge students to apply knowledge, make informed decisions, and evaluate outcomes. ASSESS - Quizzing Quizzing uses NCLEX®-style questions for assessment and remediation. Its adaptive, question-based format provides the additional practice students need to test their knowledge, master course content, and perform well on course and board exams.
Call Number: RT41 .M43 2020 (Ashburn)ISBN: 9780803677074Publication Date: 2019-10-15
Essentials for Nursing Practice (PRINT ONLY) by
Get a solid foundation in essential nursing principles, concepts, and skills! Essentials for Nursing Practice, 9th Edition combines everything you need from your fundamentals course and streamlines it into a format that''s perfect for busy nursing students. The ninth edition retains many classic features, including chapter case studies, procedural guidelines, and special considerations for various age groups, along with new content including a chapter on Complementary and Alternative Therapies, interactive clinical case studies on Evolve, a new Reflective Learning section, and QSEN activities to encourage active learning. Thoroughly reviewed by nursing clinical experts and educators, this new edition ensures you learn nursing Essentials with the most accurate, up-to-date, and easy-to-understand book on the market. Progressive case studies are introduced at the beginning of the chapter and are then used to tie together the care plan, concept map, and clinical decision-making exercises. Focused Patient Assessment tables include actual questions to help you learn how to effectively phrase questions to patients as well as target physical assessment techniques. Nursing skills at the end of each chapter feature full-bleed coloring on the edge of the page to make them easy to locate. Safety guidelines for nursing skills sections precede each skills section to help you focus on safe and effective skills performance. Detailed care plans in the text and on Evolve demonstrate the application of the 5-step nursing process to individual patient problems to help you understand how a plan is developed and how to evaluate care. Unexpected outcomes and related interventions for skills alert you to possible problems and appropriate nursing action. Patient Teaching boxes help you plan effective teaching by first identifying an outcome, then developing strategies on how to teach, and finally, implementing measures to evaluate learning. Care of the Older Adult boxes highlight key aspects of nursing assessment and care for this growing population. Key points neatly summarize the most important content for each chapter to help you review and evaluate learning. Evidence-Based Practice boxes include a PICO question, summary of the results of a research study, and a F description of how the study has affected nursing practice - in every chapter. Patient-Centered Care boxes address racial and ethnic diversity along with the cultural differences that impact socioeconomic status, values, geography, and religion. 65 Skills and procedural guidelines provide clear, step-by-step instructions for providing safe nursing care. 5-step nursing process provides a consistent framework for clinical chapters. Concept maps visually demonstrate planning care for patients with multiple diagnoses. NOC outcomes, NIC interventions, and NANDA diagnoses are incorporated in care plans to reflect the standard used by institutions nationwide. NEW! Chapter on Complementary, Alternative, and Integrative Therapies addresses new content now included on the NCLEX® exam. NEW! Clinical case studies guide you through creation of care plans and foster clinical thinking. NEW! UNIQUE! Reflective Learning section helps you better understand and reflect on your clinical and simulation experiences as you move through your first nursing course NEW! QSEN activities woven throughout help you process what you''ve learned and develop an eye for safety NEW! Updated standards and evidence throughout includes the newest INS and WOCN standards and mean you''ll be delivering the best care possible
Call Number: RT41 .P84 2019 (Ashburn)ISBN: 9780323481847Publication Date: 2018-03-08
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The essential guide to more than 450 of the most commonly performed diagnostic tests - updated with the latest molecular, genetic, and microbiological tests A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition is a concise guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. This on-the-spot clinical companion also includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis. Features: * Covers areas of internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, neurology, and obstetrics and gynecology * Over 25 new or substantially revised laboratory tests * New and updated coverage of emerging and re-emerging pathogens and infectious agents,including the Zika and Ebola viruses * Updated material on molecular and genetic tests, including pharmacogenetics tests * An entire section of diagnostic algorithms * Full literature citations with PubMed identification (PMID) numbers included for each reference * Details costs and risks of various procedures and tests * Full section on electrocardiography and echocardiography If you've been looking for an authoritative, up-to-date, and easy-to-carry guide to the latest diagnostic testing procedures, your search ends here.
Call Number: RC71 .N536 2017ISBN: 9781259640896Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide by
Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide, Seventh Edition is a must-have resource for every new or current nurse practitioner (NP). Drawing from the author's extensive experience as an NP followed by nearly 30 years as a practicing attorney focused on the many and varied legal issues affecting NPs, it is unlike any other text. This unique resource explains and analyzes the legal issues relevant to NPs in a straightforward and easy-to-read approach. The Seventh Edition discusses NP competencies, how the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree relates to NPs, the differences in primary care and acute care NPs, definitions of medical bio-ethics terminology, malpractice cases and the lessons to learn from them, emerging issues in health policy, guidelines around prescribing opioids and controlled drugs, clinical performance measures, electronic health records, and other relevant and practical topics specific to NPs.In how many states can NPs write prescriptions? What can an NP do if an insurance company refuses to pay the bill for a patient's visit? What should be covered in an employment contract? What is involved, legally, when starting a private practice? How does an NP know when to consult a physician? Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide, Seventh Edition answers these questions and more, making it an indispensable resource for practicing NPs, students, those employing NPs, and attorneys representing NPs or the medical facilities in which NPs are employed.
ISBN: 9781284208542Publication Date: 2020-11-16
Outcome Assessment in Advanced Practice Nursing by
As the role of the nurse continues to expand in today's health care environment, APRNs and DNPs are more frequently tasked with quantifying, evaluating, and improving their individual care processes, as well as demonstrating the impact of their care. Revised to provide APRN and DNP students, educators, and nursing administrators with the most up-to-date information on outcome assessment, the fourth edition of this award-winning text is still the only nursing resource to focus exclusively on outcome assessment. Written by expert practitioners, educators, and researchers, this fourth edition continues to analyze the foundations of outcome assessment, provide guidelines for selecting assessment instruments and measuring results, discuss design and implementation challenges in outcome assessment, and provide an unequaled wellspring of information that will help nurses increase their skill level and enhance their professional practice role. Sections new to this edition focus on practice-specific quality metrics for demonstrating impact of nursing care, and provide information on a national collaborative launched specifically to showcase outcomes of nurseled initiatives as part of the Choosing Wisely Campaign. New to the Fourth Edition: Expanded coverage of Doctor of Nursing Practice impact on outcomes Complete updates on practice-specific outcomes for all clinical areas of APRN practice, including those of nurse practitioners, clinical nurse specialists, certified registered nurse anesthetists, and certified nurse midwives An instructor's manual, including algorithms and teaching tools Key Features: Examines in depth the foundations of outcome assessment Addresses specialty areas of practice and specialty-specific considerations for outcome evaluation Provides guidelines for selecting assessment instruments and measuring the results Describes design and implementation pitfalls Helps nurses increase skill level regarding evaluation of outcomes
ISBN: 9780826138620Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice Nurse Prescribers (PRINT ONLY) by
Davis Edge for Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice Nurse Prescribers, 5th Edition www.DavisEdge.com The Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice Nurse Prescribers text, online case studies, and Davis Edge online quizzing work together to create an interactive learning solution that helps students master the content and prepare them for their role as an Advanced Practice Nurse Prescriber. An access code inside new, printed texts unlocks Davis Edge, including online case studies and an eBook powered by VitalSource. Or, go all-digital with the purchase of the eBook version of the text that also includes access to Davis Edge and the online case studies. LEARNING--Text Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice Nurse Prescribers, 5th Edition Here's the in-depth information students need to be safe and effective prescribers of medications. This exceptional text builds students' knowledge of pharmacology by first providing an overview of pharmacologic principles and then teaches them how to apply those principles to clinical practice. Updated to reflect the most current standards of practice, the 5th Edition continues to focus on the medications and prescribing applications for conditions most relevant to Advanced Practice Nurse Prescribers, exploring diagnostic and treatment reasoning and rational drug selection to build a strong knowledge base. APPLYING--Case Studies Online case studies for each body system let students exercise their clinical reasoning skills by applying what they've learned in the textbook to real-world scenarios. Each online case begins with a chief complaint, a brief patient history, and key assessment data. Each case is then followed by 4-5 questions that test the student's knowledge of concepts such as the appropriate prescription for the patient, recommendations for patient monitoring, and the ideal patient education. Instructors are provided with model answers for each of the questions associated with the case. ASSESSING--Davis Edge Online Quizzing www.DavisEdge.com Davis Edge is the interactive, online quizzing program that provides students with additional practice to master course content and improve their scores on classroom exams. 900 board-style questions written for Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Practice Nurse Prescribers test student's knowledge and retention of key pharmacology topics. For instructors, it provides the real-time information they need to monitor, track, and assess their class' vital signs, their students' mastery of the content and their clinical decision-making skills. They'll be able to easily identify the areas in which students are struggling and intervene quickly in class and on assignments to ensure that they succeed.
Call Number: RM300 .W96 2020 (Ashburn)ISBN: 9780803669260Publication Date: 2019-10-17
Public Health Nursing (PRINT ONLY) by
Prepare for a successful career as a community/public health nurse! Public Health Nursing: Population-Centered Health Care in the Community, 9th Edition provides up-to-date information on issues that impact public health nursing, such as infectious diseases, natural and man-made disasters, and health care policies affecting individuals, families, and communities. Real-life scenarios show examples of health promotion and public health interventions. New to this edition is an emphasis on QSEN skills and an explanation of the influence of the Affordable Care Act on public health. Written by well-known nursing educators Marcia Stanhope and Jeanette Lancaster, this comprehensive, bestselling text is ideal for students in both BSN and Advanced Practice Nursing programs. Evidence-Based Practice and Cutting Edge boxes illustrate the use and application of the latest research findings in public/community health nursing. Healthy People 2020 boxes highlight goals and objectives for promoting the nation's health and wellness over the next decade. Levels of Prevention boxes identify specific nursing interventions at the primary, secondary, and tertiary levels. Practice Application scenarios help you apply chapter content to the practice setting by analyzing case situations and answering critical thinking questions. Linking Content to Practice boxes provide examples of the nurse's role in caring for individuals, families, and populations in community health settings. Unique! Separate chapters on healthy cities, the Minnesota Intervention Wheel, and nursing centers describe different approaches to community health initiatives. Community/Public Health Nursing Online consists of 14 modules that bring community health situations to life, each including a reading assignment, case scenarios with learning activities, an assessment quiz, and critical thinking questions. Sold separately. NEW! Coverage of health care reform discusses the impact of The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 (ACA) on public health nursing. NEW! Focus on Quality and Safety Education for Nurses boxes give examples of how quality and safety goals, knowledge, competencies and skills, and attitudes can be applied to nursing practice in the community.
Call Number: RT98 .C6562 2016 (Ashburn)ISBN: 9780323321532Publication Date: 2015-10-07
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2022 by
The most popular annual guide of its kind--fully revised and updated to reflect all new clinical developments in every field of medicine For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment―the flagship volume of the renowned Lange medical series―has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2022 focuses completely on solving practical bedside clinical issues without spending too much time on pathophysiology. It includes full review of all primary care topics, including gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, neurology, toxicology, and urology. You'll find everything you need to know about inpatient and outpatient care, along the with the most relevant diagnostic tools for day-to-day practice. Features: 320 images Hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables, with indexed tradenames and updated drug prices Includes an annual review of advances in HIV treatment Includes Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders Diagnostic/treatment algorithms present critical information in an at-a-glance format Up-to-date references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information "Electronic only" chapters available to all book customers, not just to CMDT online subscribers Expanded chapter content available online and in ebook for all chapter content
ISBN: 9781264269389Publication Date: 2021-09-14
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 by
The authoritative guidelines you need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--updated with the latest research available for each guideline Concise yet comprehensive, CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 provides quick access to screening, prevention, and treatment guidelines for the most common outpatient conditions. Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific organizations. The author selected each topic based on its relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine, and he organized the book in a way that makes finding critical information a quick and easy process. With the most current, evidence-based content available, this go-to guide converts the tremendous amount of information on the web into a practical, relevant collection of usable data for busy clinicians. Features NEW: Highlights instances where major guidelines conflict. Formatted for easy fact-finding in both print and digital platforms. Organized by screening, prevention, and treatment. Topics are carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine. Text is enhanced by a convenient outline format. Screening and prevention of conditions have been combined to enhance clinician use.
ISBN: 9781264892228Publication Date: 2022-11-17
Habif's Clinical Dermatology by
Trusted by general dermatologists, family physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and more, Habif's Clinical Dermatology: A Color Guide to Diagnosis and Therapy provides superbly illustrated, easy-to-follow guidance on skin conditions commonly seen in practice. This bestselling manual helps you identify, treat, and manage even hard-to-diagnose skin disorders and provides state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of dermatologic care. In this carefully revised 7th Edition, Dr. James Dinulos builds upon the foundation of excellence established by Dr. Thomas Habif, ensuring that this manual remains a global leader in the field and an indispensable resource in daily practice. Allows you to compare your clinical findings to thousands of high-quality color images?including many new photographs from the libraries of Dr. Dinulos and Dr. Habif?depicting virtually any skin condition. Features a highly visual Regional DDx Atlas section that helps you narrow down diagnoses and directs you to the section in the text that provides more information. Online, the DDx Mannnequin provides this same function. Provides a Disorders Index for quick retrieval of information, as well as a Quick Reference Formulary at the beginning of the book. Updates you on the newest treatment options throughout, including current uses and off-label treatments. Includes numerous quick-reference tables that summarize "need to know" diagnostic and therapeutic evidence. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323612692Publication Date: 2020-02-26
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by
The Voice of Clinical ReasonHarrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine. Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. Harrison's is world-renowned as the most authoritative source for: * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and epidemiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition: * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms
Call Number: RC46 .H333 2022 (Himmelfarb stacks, 1st and 3rd floor reference)ISBN: 9781264268504Publication Date: 2022-03-28
Organizational Behavior in Health Care Packaged with Companion Website Access Code by
Organizational Behavior in Health Care, Fourth Edition is specifically written for health care managers who are on the front lines every day, motivating and leading others in a constantly changing, complex environment.Uniquely addressing organizational behavior theories and issues within the healthcare industry, this comprehensive textbook not only offers in-depth discussion of the relevant topics, such as leadership, motivation, conflict, group dynamics, change, and more, it provides students with practical application through the use of numerous case studies and vignettes.Thoroughly updated, the Fourth Edition offers:- Two chapters addressing demographic shifts and cultural competency and their importance for ensuring the delivery of high quality care (Ch. 2 & 3)- New chapter on change management and managing resistance to change.- New and updated content (modern theories of leadership, teaming, etc), and case studies throughout.
Call Number: RA971.35 .B67 2021 (Ashburn)ISBN: 1284183246Publication Date: 2020-04-09
Porth's Essentials of Pathophysiology by
Vital Disease Information for Your Success in Nursing Ready yourself for the realities of professional nursing practice with this proven approach to pathophysiology. Distilling need-to-know disease content in a clear, accessible format, Porth'sEssentials of Pathophysiology offers concise yet complete coverage of how the body works to help you establish the scientific foundation essential to success in your nursing career. Approachable presentation builds understanding from basic to advanced concepts and defines key terms as you progress. "Chunked" content--including Learning Objectives, Key Points boxes, and Summary Concepts sections--highlights critical points for reflection. Full-color illustrations clarify the clinical manifestations of diseases and disease processes. Review Exercises at the end of each chapter test your retention and identify areas for further study. References provide fast, efficient access to normal laboratory values in both conventional and SI units, as well as a comprehensive glossary. Narrated animations referenced by icons in the text and available online enhance your understanding of the most challenging and clinically relevant concepts.
Call Number: RB127 .P675 2020ISBN: 1975107195Publication Date: 2019-11-05
The Sanford guide to antimicrobial therapy 2021 (PRINT ONLY) by Call Number: RM267 .S2243 2021ISBN: 9781944272180Publication Date: 2021
Textbook of Family Medicine by
This ninth edition of the Textbook of Family Medicine, edited by Drs. Robert E. Rakel and David P. Rakel, remains your #1 choice for complete guidance on the principles of family medicine, primary care in the community, and all aspects of clinical practice. Ideal for both residents and practicing physicians, this medical reference book includes evidence-based, practical information to optimize patient care and prepare you for the ABFM exam. A clean, quick-reference layout makes it easy for you to put information to work immediately in your practice. Gain a new understanding of the patient-centered medical home and how to achieve this status in outpatient clinics. Make the most effective care decisions with help from "Evidence vs. Harm" icons that guide you through key treatments of common medical conditions. Take advantage of today's most useful online resources with a convenient list of outstanding clinical websites. Quickly spot "Best Evidence Recommendations" with special boxes located throughout the text, and glean helpful tips on diagnosis and therapy from "Key Points" boxes found on every page. Quickly access content with an efficient new layout that includes more than 1,000 tables and full-color illustrations; treatment boxes for a concise overview of how to treat various conditions; Grade A SORT recommendations; and key points highlighting the major takeaways of each chapter. Take advantage of an enhanced focus on team-based care as the role of primary care providers evolves, and stay up to date on the most current practice guidelines with evidence-based information throughout. View 30 immersive procedural videos online from Procedures Consult, including chest tube placement, knee injection, vasectomy, vaginal tear repair, skin biopsy, colposcopy, IUD insertion, and more. Remain at the forefront of the field with coverage on self-care, the emergence of tobacco alternatives such as e-cigarettes, and the changing picture of cancer in America. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC46 .T327 2016 (Ashburn and Himmelfarb)ISBN: 9780323239905Publication Date: 2015-02-20
Burns' Pediatric Primary Care by
Get a comprehensive foundation in children's primary care! Burns' Pediatric Primary Care, 7th Edition covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in primary care pediatrics, emphasizing both prevention and management. This in-depth, evidence-based textbook is the only one on the market written from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner. It easily guides you through assessing, managing, and preventing health problems in children from infancy through adolescence. Key topics include developmental theory, issues of daily living, the health status of children today, and diversity and cultural considerations. Updated content throughout reflects the latest research evidence, national and international protocols and standardized guidelines. Additionally, this 7th edition been reorganized to better reflect contemporary clinical practice and includes nine new chapters, revised units on health promotion, health protection, disease management, and much, much more! Four-part organization includes 1) an introductory unit on the foundations of global pediatric health, child and family health assessment, and cultural perspectives for pediatric primary care; 2) a unit on managing child development; 3) a unit on health promotion and management; and 4) a unit on disease management. UNIQUE! Reorganized Unit - Health Supervision: Health Promotion and Health Protection - includes health promotion and health protection for developmentally normal pediatric problems of daily living and provides the foundations for health problem management. UNIQUE! Reorganized Unit - Common Childhood Diseases/Disorders has been expanded to sharpen the focus on management of diseases and disorders in children. Comprehensive content provides a complete foundation in the primary care of children from the unique perspective of the Nurse Practitioner and covers the full spectrum of health conditions seen in the primary care of children, emphasizing both prevention and management. In-depth guidance on assessing and managing pediatric health problems covers patients from infancy through adolescence. UNIQUE! Practice Alerts highlight situations that may require urgent action, consultation, or referral for additional treatment outside the primary care setting. Content devoted to issues of daily living covers issues that are a part of every child's growth - such as nutrition and toilet training - that could lead to health problems unless appropriate education and guidance are given. Algorithms are used throughout the book to provide a concise overview of the evaluation and management of common disorders. Resources for providers and families are also included throughout the text for further information. Expert editor team is well-versed in the scope of practice and knowledge base of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (PNPs) and Family Nurse Practitioners (FNPs). NEW! Nine new chapters include: Unique Issues in Pediatrics Genetics and Child Health Environmental Issues Children with Special Healthcare Needs Developmental Management of Newborns Intentional and Unintentional Injuries: Injury Prevention and Child Maltreatment Perinatal Disorders Developmental, Behavioral and Mental Health Disorders NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest developments in our understanding of disease processes, disease management in children, and current trends in pediatric healthcare including Bright Futures and Healthy People 2020.
Call Number: RJ245 .P43 2020ISBN: 9780323581967Publication Date: 2019-11-18
Essentials of Pediatric Nursing by
Essentials of Pediatric Nursing, 4th Edition, helps students develop the clinical reasoning capability to confidently meet the unique challenges of caring for children and their families in a wide variety of healthcare settings. Utilizing the nursing process, a concise, concept-based approach makes relevant information accessible and builds students' understanding progressively from concept to application. Rather than repeating medical-surgical content previously mastered, the text builds upon students' prior knowledge, establishing an understanding of broad concepts before cultivating students' critical thinking and problem-solving skills. Covering a wide scope of relevant topics with an emphasis on common issues and pediatric-specific content, Essentials of Pediatric Nursing focuses on conceptual learning to help you make the most of your class time and ensure that your students are equipped for a successful career in pediatric nursing care. This updated edition introduces new Unfolding Case Studies and Clinical Reasoning Alerts that encourage discussion and clinical decision-making, as well as new Practice and Learn Growth and Development Case Studies and Skill-based Pediatric Videos on thePoint that guide students through commonly encountered scenarios and applications to equip them for the rigors of pediatric practice.
Call Number: RJ245 .K95 2020 (Ashburn)ISBN: 9781975139841Publication Date: 2020-02-01
Red Book 2021 by
"Refer to the Red Book." That's been the watchword for generations of healthcare professionals seeking trustworthy guidance on pediatric infectious disease prevention, management, and control Now the 32nd edition continues this tradition of excellence with the latest clinical guidance on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. The 32nd edition provides evidence-based guidance on pediatric infections and vaccinations based on the recommendations of the committee as well as the combined expertise of the CDC, FDA, and hundreds of physician contributors. Red Book® is an indispensable reference for pediatricians and pediatric infectious disease specialists and is useful for family medicine and emergency medicine physicians as well. Public health and school health professionals, medical residents, and students also will find it a high-yield source of pediatric infectious disease and vaccine information.
ISBN: 9781610025225Publication Date: 2021-05-31
Red Book Atlas of Pediatric Infectious Diseases by
The fifth edition of this best-selling Red Book® image companion aids in the diagnosis and treatment of more than 165 pediatric infectious diseases. Streamline disease recognition and clinical decision-making with more than 1,350 finely detailed color images, combined with step-by-step guidance. Featured in the Fifth Edition Updated guidance on every pediatric infectious disease New guidance on coronaviruses, including SARS-CoV-2 and MERS-CoV New Pseudomonas aeruginosa Infections chapter Images added for Chlamydia pneumoniae, hepatitis D virus, human herpesvirus 8, and more Extensively revised Gonococcal Infections chapter and Hepatitis B chapter New Clinical Manifestations added for human herpesvirus 8 in young children And much more . . . Concise text descriptions guide the reader through the diagnosis, evaluation, and essential management of each condition. Clinical Manifestations Etiology Epidemiology Diagnostic Tests Incubation Period Treatment
ISBN: 9781610026314Publication Date: 2022-11-01
Signs and Symptoms in Pediatrics by
Evaluate diverse pediatric complaints efficiently and accurately with this best-selling resource from the American Academy of Pediatrics! This convenient handbook helps you effectively evaluate patient complaints, and develop sound differential diagnoses and management strategies. This practice-focused resource provides must-know information and expert advice for confidently addressing more than 80 diagnostic challenges. Discover all the pediatric issues you're most likely to see Look here for the essentials on everything from abdominal, back, and chest pain...to fever, fatigue, headache, and heart murmurs...to rash, red eye, sleep disturbances, and speech and language concerns...plus much more. Coverage also extends to evaluation of mental health symptoms, including anxiety, depression, disruptive behavior, emotional disturbance, inattention and impulsivity, and self-harm. Some 200 full-color images complement the concise text! Work through patient problems efficiently and systematically Designed to work the way you do, Signs and Symptoms in Pediatrics guides you through every step in the diagnostic decision-making process. Information on each complaint is presented in the order in which you need to consider it as your evaluation proceeds. Pathophysiology and epidemiology History Physical examination Laboratory tests Imaging studies Approaches to initial management Ongoing care and follow-up Suggestions on when to refer or admit Ready-reference features help save time and enhance outcomes Presenting complaints are organized alphabetically for speedy look up. Easy-to-follow algorithms simplify clinical decision-making At-a-glance charts and data tables Text boxes highlighting potential differential diagnoses
ISBN: 9781581108507Publication Date: 2015-03-25
Geriatrics at your fingertips by
Geriatrics At Your Fingertips® (GAYF) is an annually updated reference that provides quick, easy access to the specific information clinicians need to make decisions about the care of older adults. Twenty-fifth edition updates include new sections on dementia screening, non-pharmacologic approaches for problem behaviors in dementia, OTC hearing aids, medical marijuana for chronic pain, and gambling disorder. Updates have been made in every chapter including new chest pain management guidelines, updated information about drugs for weight loss, and anti-diabetic agents that have cardiac and renal benefits.
ISBN: 9781886775770Publication Date: 2023
Geriatric Nursing Review Syllabus by
The Geriatric Nursing Review Syllabus (GNRS) provides current and comprehensive clinically relevant information to nurse practitioners preparing for certification exams as adult/gerontological, adult/gerontology acute care nurse practitioners or family nurse practitioners. It is an essential resource for all providers to quickly access during their clinical day. In addition to being of value to students and nurse practitioners in practice, the GNRS is an invaluable resource for faculty. The comprehensive content of this new GNRS edition provides learners, faculty, and nurse practitioners with information on diagnosis, management, and prevention of all major health problems commonly encountered when caring for older adults as well as on the social and legal issues related to health care in the United States
ISBN: 9781886775718Publication Date: 2022-01-01
Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics by
Written with first-line primary care providers in mind, Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics: A Case-Based Approach, 7th Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-read source of practical clinical guidance for this rapidly growing population. Using a unique, case-based approach, it covers the patient presentations you're most likely to encounter, offering key clinical information, expert advice, and evidence-based medical guidelines throughout. This highly regarded text uses a consistent format and an enjoyable writing style to keep you informed, engaged, and up to date in this increasingly important field. Uses a case study format that is ideal for learning, retention, and rapid recall. All case studies are thoroughly up to date with current references. Features an interdisciplinary perspective to provide team-oriented knowledge on the best diagnosis, treatment, and management strategies available to address the complex needs of older adults. Contains a new chapter on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender (LGBT) Medicine in Older Adults, as well as completely revised or rewritten chapters on rehabilitation, infectious disease, and urinary incontinence. Provides up-to-date information on key topics such as opioid management and polypharmacy, the "geriatric emergency room,? cultural humility in the care of older adults, and the five signs of problematic substance abuse. Includes key learning objectives and USMLE-style questions in every chapter. Online extras include dizziness, gait, and balance video resources, a dermatology quiz, and a Cognitive Status Assessment with tests and patient teaching guides. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323721684Publication Date: 2021-03-17
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Eighth Edition by
The undisputed leader on the subject of geriatrics has been updated with the most recent advances in the field for assessing and managing diverse groups of older adults in various settings Authored by a team of the world's most respected geriatricians, Hazzard's Principles of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Eighth Edition combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics to provide unmatched coverage of the health and well-being impacts of population aging. Anchored in science, evidence-based medicine, and patient-centered practice, it presents the most up-to-date, medical information available. This practical guide focuses on the implementation of key concepts and covers the foundation for geriatrics, as well as frequently encountered syndromes found in older people. In addition, it provides valuable insights into the simultaneous management of multiple problems, including psychological and social issues, and their interactions, an intrinsic aspect of geriatric patient care. Updates include: * NEW: Chapters on Geroscience; Value-Based Care; The Patient's Perspective; Multi-Morbidity; Disparities: Social Determinants of Health and Access to Care; Age Friendly Care; Self-Management of Health Behavior * NEW: Updated coverage of COVID-19 in geriatric patients * NEW: Free access to updates (case-based, studies/trials and hot topics) on accessmedicine.com * NEW: Chapters on costs of care in the management of diseases, including an international comparative approach
ISBN: 9781260464450Publication Date: 2022-06-13
Essentials of Maternity, Newborn, and Women's Health Nursing (PRINT ONLY) by
Help your students prepare for effective maternity nursing practice! This updated 4th Edition of Susan Ricci's practical text provides students with the essential information they need to care for women and their families, and also to assist them in making the right choices safely, intelligently, and with confidence. With integrated case studies and nursing procedures throughout, the text takes a nursing process approach, builds on previously mastered content, and includes much that is new, including increased coverage of the cultural and global aspects of maternity and women's health care. KEY FEATURES Revised Unfolding Case Studies in every chapter, now paired with patient photos, give students an opportunity to apply concepts to real-life scenarios. Up-to-date Nursing Procedures provide clear, step-by-step explanations, along with illustrations of variations in nursing care, to help students master vital skills. New Bringing It All Together Case Studies begin in the end-of-chapter worksheets and unfold online, providing extended opportunities for students to connect learning to practice. New! Concept Mastery Alerts improve students' understanding of potentially confusing topics as identified by Lippincott's Adaptive Learning Powered by PrepU. Updated Teaching Guidelines, now with rationales, prepare students to educate families. Additional evidence-based research findings promote evidence-based maternity nursing practice and interventions. More than 700 NCLEX-Style Review Questions help students review important concepts and prepare for the NCLEX-RN. This leading content is also incorporated into Lippincott CoursePoint+ , a dynamic learning solution that integrates this book's curriculum, adaptive learning tools, virtual simulations, real-time data reporting, and the latest evidence-based practice content together into one powerful student learning solution. Lippincott CoursePoint+ improves the nursing students' critical thinking and clinical reasoning skills to prepare them for practice. Learn more at www.NursingEducationSuccess.com/CoursePoint.
Call Number: RG951 .R53 2017 (Ashburn)ISBN: 9781451193992Publication Date: 2016-10-13
Guidelines for Nurse Practitioners in Gynecologic Settings by
Delivers the latest evidence-based guidelines you need to ensure excellence in clinical practice! Now in its 12th edition, this authoritative resource continues to represent the gold standard for nursing management of common gynecological conditions for women throughout the life span. It includes contributions from prominent specialists focusing on specific areas of gynecological health, in addition to the vanguard contributions of three new lead Editors with decades of experience in varied health care settings. The 12th edition is substantially updated with pivotal topics, current evidence-based practice guidelines, real-life case studies, and improved patient teaching materials that foster translation of information to practice. Clinical guidelines, appendices, and bibliographies are extensively revised to reflect the most current evidence-based information, research, and consensus from national health organizations. For qualified instructor's, new PowerPoint slides and a transition guide for the 12th edition are included for ease of use in educational programs.New and Revised Chapters: New section on women's health: adolescents, sexual and gender minority persons, and individuals with mental health considerationsUpdated breast and cervical cancer screening guidelinesAcute and chronic gynecologic conditionsSTIs and prevention and management of HPV-associated cancersPerimenopause and postmenopausal careKey Features: Evidence-based guidelines, empirically proven to improve patient outcomesOutline format ensures quick and easy access to essential informationUpdated bibliography for each guideline, including relevant websites with additional resourcesOnline access to seven appendices presenting updated clinical resources, assessments, and screening toolsTwo expanded chapters include online access to case studies and EMR education templates to facilitate student learningNew PowerPoint slides for ease of use by qualified instructorsTransition guide to assist instructors in incorporating new edition content into their courses
ISBN: 9780826173263Publication Date: 2020-03-28
Hacker and Moore's Essentials of Obstetrics and Gynecology by
Hacker & Moore's Essentials of Obstetrics and Gynecology, by Drs. Neville F. Hacker, Joseph C. Gambone, and Calvin J. Hobel, is the #1 choice of ob/gyn residents and medical students because of its concise focus, comprehensive coverage, and easy-to-use format. This new edition features updated clinical cases and assessments, new Clinical Key boxes, and thoroughly revised text and images that reflect today's best knowledge on the evaluation, diagnosis, and management of a wide range of ob/gyn disorders. Concise, comprehensive content is well organized, highly accessible, and relevant to today's practice. High-quality, full-color design for maximum readability. Online access to updated clinical cases, self-assessment tools, an obstetric statistics resource, and a glossary of common terms. New Clinical Key boxes and judicious use of bolding make it easy to identify the high-yield material you need to know. Content is aligned to APGO/CREOG objectives to ensure coverage of essential, clinically relevant material.
Call Number: RG101 .E87 2016ISBN: 9781455775583Publication Date: 2015-11-10
Critical Care Medicine by
Now completely revised to bring you up to date with the latest advances in the field, Critical Care Medicine: Principles of Diagnosis and Management in the Adult, 5th Edition, delivers expert, practical guidance on virtually any clinical scenario you may encounter in the ICU. Designed for intensivists, critical care and pulmonology residents, fellows, practicing physicians, and nurse practitioners, this highly regarded text is clinically focused and easy to reference. Led by Drs. Joseph Parrillo and Phillip Dellinger, the 5th Edition introduces numerous new authors who lend a fresh perspective and contribute their expertise to that of hundreds of top authorities in the field. Includes new chapters on current applications of bedside ultrasound in the ICU, both diagnostic and procedural; mechanical assist devices; and extra-corporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). Contains new administrative chapters that provide important information on performance improvement and quality, length of stay, operations, working with the Joint Commission, and more. Features new videos and images that provide visual guidance and clarify complex topics. Keeps you up to date with expanded chapters on echocardiography in the ICU and valvular heart disease, including TAVR. Includes separate chapters on mechanical ventilation of obstructive airway disease and acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) - including the many recent changes in approach to positive end expiratory pressure setting in ARDS. Covers key topics such as patient-ventilator synchrony and non-invasive ventilation for treating chronic obstructive pulmonary disease patients with acute respiratory failure. Reflects the recent literature and guidance on amount of fluids, type of fluid, vasopressor selection, mean arterial pressure target, and decision on steroid use in septic shock. Provides questions and answers in every chapter, perfect for self-assessment and review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323446761Publication Date: 2019-01-16
Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! With a focus on evidence-based, state-of-the-art information throughout, the eighth edition of Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine offers authoritative guidance to the wide variety of specialty physicians and non-physicians practicing in the adult intensive care environment. This comprehensive textbook covers both the theoretical and practical aspects of the field, and has been completely updated to provide encyclopedic, interprofessional coverage to support practitioners in every area of this complex field. Features: Approaches intensive care from an interprofessional, collaborative perspective, encompassing anesthesia, surgery, trauma, and neurology, as well as cardiovascular and medical intensive care. Maintains a practical, clinically-oriented approach, with comprehensive sections on procedures, techniques, and ultrasound; minimally invasive monitoring; pharmacology, overdoses, and poisoning; infectious disease; transplantation; critical care consequences of agents of mass destruction; and many more. Features many new chapters, and an entirely new section on Palliative Care and Ethical Issues in the Critical Care Unit. Reflects the rising importance of point-of-care ultrasonography with five hours of expertly narrated video embedded into 23 relevant chapters, clearly depicting the ideal use of this tool for intensivists . Includes a section on ICU Design, Organization, Operation, and Outcome Measures that addresses important changes and advances regarding safety, clinical practice guidelines, decreasing the cost of care, tele-ICU, and more. Provides extensive updates reflecting advances in cardiovascular intensive care, surgical critical care, shock and trauma, and sepsis management. Includes recommendations reflecting randomized controlled clinical trials, summarized, when possible, in quick-reference tables throughout. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Call Number: RC86.7 .I555 2018ISBN: 9781496306081Publication Date: 2017-12-26
The Washington Manual of Critical Care by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! The Washington Manual of Critical Care , similar to other volumes in this vaunted series, features authors and contributors who are faculty members and practicing physicians at Washington University's School of Medicine. Inside you'll find comprehensive and current information for bedside diagnosis and management of some of the most common illnesses and problems encountered in the ICU setting.Key Features Covers the treatment and management of shock, sepsis, acute episodes of COPD and asthma, myocardial infarctions, organ failure, and other conditions and disorders. Provides overviews of intubation and catheterization procedures, as well as of common drug side effects and drug-drug interactions. Contributors hail from departments in Internal Medicine, Neurology, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Anesthesiology. New chapters have been added on ECLS, critical care ultrasound, rheumatology, and management of transplant patients. Includes concise, easy-to-read diagnosis and treatment algorithms for common conditions, plus bibliographical references for additional, in-depth reading. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline. Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks. Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design. The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click.
Call Number: RC86.8 .W38 2018ISBN: 9781496328519Publication Date: 2017-12-16
Handbook of Qualitative Research Methodologies in Workplace Contexts by
This comprehensive Handbook explores both traditional and contemporary interpretations of qualitative research in the workplace, examining a variety of foundational and innovative qualitative methodological approaches. Expert international contributors discuss how organisations have undergone substantial changes, prompting novel research agendas, which, in turn, required inventive applications of qualitative methodologies in a range of workplace contexts. The Handbook comprises three parts, which consider the foundational knowledge of qualitative methodologies; innovative additions to these methodologies; and their application in a range of workplace contexts and disciplines, including management, health and education policy. Chapters focus on context and the role of reflexivity as central issues for decision making about appropriate methodologies, highlighting how qualitative research has responded to contemporary developments in workplaces, such as the global dispersal of organisations, flexible work arrangements and changes to stakeholder relationships. Analysing the challenges and opportunities for conducting qualitative research in modern organisations, this Handbook will be critical reading for academics and students of organisation studies and qualitative research methods, particularly those with a focus on business and management.
ISBN: 9781789904338Publication Date: 2021-02-19
Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association (PRINT ONLY) by
The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition includes four different formats--spiral-bound and tabbed, paperback, hardcover, and ebook, all of which are in full color. It is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Easy navigation, with topics divided into numbered sections to help users quickly location the information they need. Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types, guidelines on citing course materials, and guidance on writing clearly, precisely, and concisely Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards (JARS) that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style Updated chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, racial and ethnic identity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality. Updated chapter on essential style guidelines for scholarly writing, including punctuation, italics, capitalization, abbreviations, and numbers. More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, legal resources, and many other document types Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832178Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Qualitative Research (PRINT ONLY) by
The bestselling guide to qualitative research, updated and expanded Qualitative Research is the essential guide to understanding, designing, conducting, and presenting a qualitative research study. This fourth edition features new material covering mixed methods, action research, arts-based research, online data sources, and the latest in data analysis, including data analysis software packages as well as narrative and poetic analysis strategies. A new section offers multiple ways of presenting qualitative research findings. The reader-friendly, jargon-free style makes this book accessible to both novice and experienced researchers, emphasizing the role of a theoretical framework in designing a study while providing practical guidance. Qualitative research reaches beyond the what, where, and when of quantitative analysis to investigate the why and how behind human behavior and the reasons that govern such behavior, but this presents a number of significant challenges. This guide is an invaluable reference for students and practitioners alike, providing the deep understanding that this sometimes difficult area of research requires to produce accurate results. The book contains a step-by-step guide to analyzing qualitative data and an addendum for graduate students with a template for a thesis, dissertation, or grant application. Build a strong foundation in qualitative research theory and application Design and implement effective qualitative research studies Communicate findings more successfully with clear presentation Explore data sources, data analysis tools, and the different types of research
Call Number: LB1028 .M396 2016ISBN: 9781119003618Publication Date: 2015-08-24
Qualitative Research in Health Care by
Provides the essential information that health care researchers and health professionals need to understand the basics of qualitative research Now in its fourth edition, this concise, accessible, and authoritative introduction to conducting and interpreting qualitative research in the health care field has been fully revised and updated. Continuing to introduce the core qualitative methods for data collection and analysis, this new edition also features chapters covering newer methods which are becoming more widely used in the health research field; examining the role of theory, the analysis of virtual and digital data, and advances in participatory approaches to research. Qualitative Research in Health Care, 4th Edition looks at the interface between qualitative and quantitative research in primary mixed method studies, case study research, and secondary analysis and evidence synthesis. The book further offers chapters covering: different research designs, ethical issues in qualitative research; interview, focus group and observational methods; and documentary and conversation analysis. A succinct, and practical guide quickly conveying the essentials of qualitative research Updated with chapters on new and increasingly used methods of data collection including digital and web research Features new examples and up-to-date references and further reading The fourth edition of Qualitative Research in Health Care is relevant to health care professionals, researchers and students in health and related disciplines.
ISBN: 9781119410874Publication Date: 2019-12-04
Winningham's Critical Thinking Cases in Nursing (PRINT ONLY) by
Highly regarded for its clinically relevant and thought-provoking content, Winningham's Critical Thinking Cases in Nursing, 6th Edition features 150 case studies that cover all four clinical practice areas: medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric nursing. Each case covers a common patient problem, drawn from actual clinical experiences and written by nurses who are clinical experts. This edition reflects the most current standards of clinical practice, including content on pharmacology, nutrition, and diagnostic/laboratory tests to prepare you for all aspects of patient care. From nursing educators Mariann Harding and Julie Snyder, this workbook helps you develop your clinical nursing judgment and bridge the gap from nursing knowledge to nursing practice. Comprehensive case study approach uses cases drawn from actual clinical experiences to help you identify changes, anticipate possible complications, and initiate therapeutic interventions. Progressive case complexity builds on previous learning and helps you develop more and more expertise. 150 case studies cover all major clinical areas, including medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric cases, providing you with many diverse clinical situations and opportunities to apply knowledge and develop critical thinking skills. Body system organization makes the book easier to use with medical-surgical nursing textbooks and courses. NEW! QSEN icons highlight essential safety content. NEW! Increased emphasis on NCLEX® Exam-style alternate-format questions includes multiple-response, prioritization, and illustration-based questions, offering better NCLEX Examination preparation. NEW! Additional documentation questions and a NEW Chart View design provide more experience in documenting patient care based on real-world electronic chart formats. NEW! Reorganized format presents cases in three parts: 1) medical-surgical cases; 2) pediatric, maternity, and women's health cases; and 3) psychiatric and alternative therapies cases. NEW! Increased difficulty level includes more questions about care of older adults and multi-system situations. UPDATED content includes the latest clinical treatment guidelines, issues, and practice standards.
Call Number: RT55 .H32 2016 (Ashburn)ISBN: 9780323289610Publication Date: 2015-01-23
