Skip to main content
A systematic review is a high-level overview of primary research on a particular research question that tries to identify, select, synthesize and appraise all high quality research evidence relevant to that question in order to answer it. (Cochrane Community, 2014).
Locating Systematic Reviews:
The Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic Reviews
Systematic reviews in the areas of education, criminal justice and social welfare.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
A full-text database containing critical assessments and structured abstracts of systematic reviews from medical journals from around the world. It covers topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment. Produced by the National Health Services' Center for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York, England.
Limit by publication type to "practice guidelines."
Using the "article type" limit, select "practice guidelines."
Clinical practice guidelines are statements that include recommendations intended to optimize patient care that are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options. (NGC, 2014).
Locating Practice Guidelines:
- ECRI Institute Guideslines Trust - Evidence-based clinical practice guidelines (sign up for a free account)
- PubMed - After you run your search, use the "article type" limit and select "practice guidelines."
- MEDLINE - Limit by publication type to "practice guidelines"