Skip to main content
Systematic Review Databases
Locating Systematic Reviews:
- What is a "Systematic Review" study?
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Coverage: Current. Produced by the Cochrane Collaboration.
Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic Reviews
Systematic reviews in the areas of education, criminal justice and social welfare.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)
A full-text database containing critical assessments and structured abstracts of systematic reviews from medical journals from around the world. It covers topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment. Produced by the National Health Services' Center for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York, England.
MEDLINE (Refine to Systematic Reviews)
MEDLINE allows you to search systematic reviews and meta-analysis. Run a search and click "Limits" to refine your search to systematic reviews.
PubMed (Refine to Systematic Reviews)
PubMed allows you to refine your search to only systematic reviews or meta-analysis. Run your search and use the "Article Types" limit (on the upper left corner) to refine your results to only systematic reviews.
Tip: Himmelfarb Library had created quick links in PubMed. Run your search and select "Systematic Reviews" (in the upper right corner) to locate systematic reviews from within your search results.
Himmelfarb Library's Guide to Conducting Systematic Reviews
Check here for a step-by-step guide to conducting a systematic review.
You might also want to review the Joanna Briggs Manual on conducting systematic reviews:
Aromataris E, Munn Z. Chapter 1: JBI Systematic Reviews. In: Aromataris E, Munn Z (Editors). Joanna Briggs Institute Reviewer's Manual. The Joanna Briggs Institute, 2017. Available from https://reviewersmanual.joannabriggs.org/
Qualitative Research and Mixed Methodology
Dixon-Woods, M., Bonas, S., Booth, A., Jones, D. R., Miller, T., Sutton, A. J., . . . Young, B. (2006). How can systematic reviews incorporate qualitative research? A critical perspective. Qualitative Research, 6(1), 27-44. doi:10.1177/1468794106058867