Skip to main content

Open access to publicly funded journal articles & research data: Adding Citations & Delegates

Scroll down the page to view a summary of Department/Agency open access plans

How to add citations to My NCBI Bibliography

1. Sign into My NCBI

2. Search PubMed to find articles you want to add.

    • Try using PubMed's Single Citation Matcher. Type in the author name and then click search.

Single Citation Matcher Author

3. From within a particular article record or the search results, click on the 'Send to' drop-down.

4. Click on 'My Bibliography' and then the 'Add to My Bibliography' button that appears.

PubMed Sent to

NOTE: You are responsible for ensuring that any NIH funded publication for which you were either an author OR the PI of the grant.  This means you may need to include articles for which you were not an author but which were supported by a grant you are a PI on.

Add Delegates

You don't have to do all of the work!  Use the 'Delegate' feature to share the work with others in your lab, assistants, or with librarians.

1. From My NCBI Bibliography, click on 'Edit settings' for My Bibliography.

My Bibliography Settings Link

2. At the bottom of the page click on the link to 'Add a Delegate'

My Bibliography Add Delegate

3. Enter the email of the person you want to add as a delegate and click the 'Add Delegate' button.  You can add more than one delegate if necessary.

Confirm Delegate Connection

If you have been assigned to be a delegate for someone's My NCBI Bibliography and that person has already added you as a delegate in their account you can follow the steps below to confirm.

  1. Sign into your My NCBI account.
  2. Respond to the confirmation email you received from My NCBI by clicking on the included URL.
  3. When prompted, click on the 'Confirm Connection button.

My Bibliography delegate confirm

After completing these steps, a link to the delegated bibliography will be listed in your collections in your My NCBI account.

SciENcv BioSketch

Delegates for your MyNCBI Bibliography are also able to manage your SciENcv profile to update and add publications to your BioSketch when applying for research funding from the NIH, NSF, or Institute of Education Sciences.  Please see these instructions for details.

If you had a pre-existing NIH Biosketch saved, you may convert it to the new format NIH Biosketch by following these instructions.

The Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library
Questions? Ask us.
Creative Commons License
All LibGuides by Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library are licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

The George Washington University